Belfast Telegraph

Beggs hopes are growing ahead of the Rosebowl

By Robert Fenton

Team manager Ricky Beggs has called up two new players to his squad for the Amateur League's annual Rosebowl clash with the Scottish Amateur League, at Bellsbridge, Dromara on Saturday (2.30).

Goalkeeper Chris Malone of Nortel has been called in for the injured Islandmagee 'keeper David Harrison who sustained a knock in the Clarence Cup semi-final victory over Crumlin while striker Andrew Telford from champions Downpartrick, replaces Nortel's Chris Malone.

Telford returned from Australia about a month ago and played a prominent role in his club's run to the title.

Beggs, the former manager of Nortel, is confident of a strong show from his squad and relies on experience with no shortage of quality.

"They deserve to be in the squad with good leadership from Thomas Duffy (Newington) and Darren Kitson (Killyleagh) in midfield.

"I like to reward those who have been loyal to the leaguesuch as Abbey Villa's Johnny Nixon who has been the subject of interest from other clubs."

The manager puts great store on these representative games and expects his players to react in the same way.

As far as Ricky is concerned, there is no greater honour than wearing a representative jersey and he goes into this fixture, looking for a hat-trick of triumphs.

"I am confident we can win again," added Beggs. "We certainly have the players."

Much will depend on the firepower of Duffy who has scored three times in the last two meetings.

The Scots arrive in the province tomorrow while teh match will be refereed by Simon Creaney, fresh form his handling of last week's IFA Intermediate Cup final won by Loughgall.

After the activities on the field, both squads and officials will be treated to special dinner and reception courtesy of Lisburn Council in their own building.

Amateur League squad: Goalkeepers: Liam Hartley (Dromara Village), Chris Malone (Nortel).

Defenders: Johnny Holland (Killyleagh YC), Gareth Larmour (Comber Rec), Sean Adams (Newington YC), George Lynn (18th N'abbey), Jim McStravick (Downpatrick).

Midfielders: Jim McCloseky (Comber Rec), Darren Kitson (Killyleagh YC), Anto Walsh (Dunmurry Rec), Thomas Dickson (Bloomfield), Johnny Nixon (Abbey Villa), Ross Hagan (Comber Rec). Strikers: Thomas Duffy (Newington YC), Andrew Telford (Downpatrick), Declan O'Connor (Dromara Village).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph