Belfast Telegraph

Champions Newry draw a blank in opener with Linfield

Danske Bank Women's Premiership

By Graham Luney

The new-look Danske Bank Women's Premiership kicked off last night but there was no winner in the pick of the opening fixtures as Newry City Ladies and Linfield Ladies fought out a scoreless draw.

Last season's champions Newry knew they would be tested by Linfield, who were runners-up last season, but neither side could find the breakthrough at the Showgrounds.

The 2015 title race went right to the wire with Newry scoring in injury-time to snatch the trophy from Linfield Ladies' grasp.

In a Belfast derby at the Hammer Complex, big rivals Crusaders Strikers and Glentoran Belfast United also had to settle for a share of the spoils in a 1-1 draw.

The last time Cliftonville Ladies took on Sion Swifts Ladies in August, supporters were treated to a thrilling 4-4 draw but this time the north-Belfast side ran out comfortable 4-0 winners.

Trudi Harbinson opened the scoring ahead of a Marissa Callaghan penalty doubling the Reds' advantage before half-time.

Kiera Moss added a third and another Callaghan spot-kick rounded off the win.

There is huge interest in how Derry City Ladies, last year's Championship winners, are going to adjust to life in the Premiership but there was no first win for them as they crashed to a 4-2 loss at Mid-Ulster Ladies.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph