| 12.8°C Belfast

Red-hot holders Cliftonville cruise past Annagh United


Treble time: David McDaid hit a hat-trick for Cliftonville

Treble time: David McDaid hit a hat-trick for Cliftonville

Treble time: David McDaid hit a hat-trick for Cliftonville

Davy McDaid was Cliftonville's hat-trick hero as they ensured they wouldn't befall the same fate as Glentoran by thumping Annagh United 6-0 at Tandragee Road.

McDaid proved too much to handle for the Championship 2 side's defence, earning and scoring a penalty in between firing home twice more for his well-deserved treble.

Daniel Hughes also found the back of the net twice on Cliftonville's way to victory, with Stephen Garrett adding a sixth to put some gloss on an already impressive scoreline.

Hughes was the first to find the back of the net after Caoimhin Bonner knocked the ball down from a Chris Curran free-kick for the striker to pick his spot in the corner.

Hughes was again involved in the second goal as his 25 yard shot was saved, however McDaid was on hand to follow in the rebound for his first of the night.

If his first was nothing more than a tap-in, McDaid's second was all of his own making as he managed to get around Eoin Hughes in the Annagh goal, only to be fouled in the process.

The striker dusted himself off to dispatch the resulting spot kick, before Curran made a surging run down the left, allowing him to cut the ball back inside for Hughes to round off for his second, and Cliftonville's fourth, just before the break.

McDaid saved his best goal for last, rifling home from 30 yards after the restart to ensure he'd go home with the match ball before topping things off by adding an assist to his match night tally, firing a low cross into the box allowing Stephen Garrett to bundle the ball through Hughes' legs.

In the end it was job done for Gerard Lyttle's men who could have added another, but for Hughes' excellent save from McDaid's second penalty of the night.

Annagh United: Hughes, Richardson, C Stewart, Smith, Campbell, M Stewart, Whitten, McClurg, Park, McElroy, Taylor.

Cliftonville: Burke, McGovern, Bonner, Cosgrove, A Donnelly, G Donnelly, Curran, Catney, Garrett, McDaid, Hughes.

Referee: Andrew Davey (Bangor)

Belfast Telegraph