Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Coleraine's Oran Kearney named Manager of the Year at NI Football Awards

By Gareth Hanna

Coleraine boss Oran Kearney has been named Bet McLean Manager of the Year at the NI Football Awards.

Kearney led his Bannsiders side to the Tennent's Irish Cup title and a runners-up finish in the Danske Bank Premiership.

They came within three league points of securing an historic double at the end of a campaign in which they suffered Premiership defeat only once.

The Irish Cup success was Kearney's first major trophy as manager on the Ballycastle Road.

After Eoin Bradley's late goal clinched a 3-1 final victory over Cliftonville on Saturday, Kearney ran to join the celebrations in what was a fitting end to a season in which Coleraine won admirers across the Irish League.

Also nominated for Manager of the Year were title-winning Crusaders boss Stephen Baxter and Dungannon Swifts manager Rodney McAree, who led his side to Bet McLean League Cup success.

The NI Football Awards are hosted by the Northern Ireland Football Writers' Association and the Northern Ireland Football League.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph