| 5°C Belfast

Irish Cup: Ryan Swan winner helps Warrenpoint edge past hard-working Championship visitors Ballyclare Comrades

Warrenpoint Town 2-1 Ballyclare Comrades


Warrenpoint’s Ryan Swan

Warrenpoint’s Ryan Swan

Warrenpoint’s Ryan Swan

Ryan Swan struck 15 minutes from time at Milltown last night to edge Warrenpoint past Championship battlers Ballyclare Comrades and into the Irish Cup last 16.

Francis McCaffrey had put Barry Gray's men in front just before the interval only for Paul Harbinson's hard-working side to draw level through Ciaran Dobbin early in the second period.

The visitors began very much on the front foot, looking like a team that hadn't played competitively in over a year and with a point to prove.

However, as the half wore on, Warrenpoint got a foothold in the game, and had the ball in the net in the 39th minute but although McCaffrey neatly lobbed the advancing Ferguson, referee Raymond Crangle had already blown for a push by the Point captain on Dale McCreery.

Almost immediately, though, McCaffrey made amends. Brandon Doyle burst down the left flank and cut the ball back into the path of McCaffrey who drilled home into the bottom left-hand corner from 10 yards.

Ballyclare levelled 10 minutes after the restart following a period of sustained pressure.

Gary Donnelly curled in a corner from the left, which was met by the head of first half sub Elliot McKim. Coleman could only parry his effort and Ciaran Dobbin was on hand to force it over the line from point-blank range.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Warrenpoint should have regained the lead on 68 minutes when Luke Gallagher beat Ferguson to the ball and looked to have an open net only for Kyle Crawford to get back and clear off the line. In the ensuing scramble, Swan then blazed over from eight yards out.

But Swan made no mistake for what proved to be the winner on 75 minutes when he blasted home after Gallagher had headed a McCaffrey cross off the post.

Warrenpoint Town: Coleman, Deasy (Mullen 77), Ball, Wallace, Gallagher, Hutchinson, McCaffrey, Dillon, Swan, O'Sullivan (Carroll 62), Doyle

Subs not used: Sava, Cowan, Quinn, Forsythe

Ballyclare Comrades: Ferguson, Woods. McCune (McKim 28), Crawford, McCreery, Donnelly, Hassin (Tully 78), Beggs (O'Neill 73), Dobbin, Mooney, Gray

Subs not used: McCauley, Malone, McDermott, Herron

Referee: Raymond Crangle (Belfast)

Man of the Match: Francis McCaffrey (Warrenpoint Town)

Match Rating: 5/10

Top Videos