| 7.3°C Belfast

Irish League transfers: Andy Kilmartin joins Portadown after Glenavon exit


Andy Kilmartin in action for Glenavon.

Andy Kilmartin in action for Glenavon.

Jonny Frazer has joined Ards.

Jonny Frazer has joined Ards.

Former Glentoran winger Jordan Stewart signed for Linfield after leaving Swindon Town

Former Glentoran winger Jordan Stewart signed for Linfield after leaving Swindon Town

Pic: Presseye

Midfielder Stephen McAlorum (left) was released by Glentoran and has signed for Ballymena United.

Midfielder Stephen McAlorum (left) was released by Glentoran and has signed for Ballymena United.

Press Eye

Brian Neeson has signed a pre-contract agreement with Cliftonville.

Brian Neeson has signed a pre-contract agreement with Cliftonville.

Photo by Freddie Parkinson / Press Eye

Andy Kilmartin in action for Glenavon.

Andy Kilmartin has signed for recently relegated Portadown.

The Glenavon midfielder agreed a two-year deal to join Niall Currie’s Portadown after his contract with the Lurgan Blues expired. Currie said he was "over the moon" with the signing. Experienced centre-back David Elebert has also left Glenavon.

Ballymena United, meanwhile, have added Carrick full-back Stephen McCullough to their squad.

“We know that the left back position caused us some anxiety this year, and with Stephen McBride forced to retire due to injury and Daniel Wallace recalled back to Linfield from his loan, that leaves us with Adam McCracken and Leroy Millar," boss David Jeffrey told the club's official website.

"Adam is unsure where his academic future is going to take him with university across the water an option, whilst Leroy excelled in that position this season, he sees further up the pitch as the best position for him, but he still gives us an option in defence.

"We've been watching Steven for some time and so we approached things in the right manner by making our intentions clear to Carrick that we wished to speak to him, and subsequently met with him to lay out our plans for the future."

Former Linfield winger Jonny Frazer, who was released from Windsor Park earlier this month, has joined Ards. The 20 year-old has spent time on loan at Warrenpoint and Ballymena United. He featured in just four league games for Linfield last season.

Coleraine have added Aaron Traynor and Stephen O'Donnell. Midfielder Aaron Traynor arrives from Warrenpoint but has significant top level experience, having previously played for Lisburn Distillery, Portadown and Carrick Rangers. O'Donnell is a 24 year-old defender who captained Institute during his five year spell at the club.

Dungannon Swifts have added another former Ballinamallard player to their ranks. Full-back Liam McMenamin joins Rod McAree's panel from Strabane Athletic. He played for the intermediate side for just half a season, arriving in January after his three and a half year spell with the Mallards came to an end.

Meanwhile, Andrew Burns has left Dungannon Swifts "by mutual consent" as the player looks for a new challenge and the club have agreed to accept his request.

Elsewhere, Institute are looking for a new manager after Kevin Deery left the role and Brendan Shannon has taken over as Player / Head Coach at Lurgan Celtic.

Newly promoted Warrenpoint Town have made the most summer signings with SEVEN so far. Sean Mackle and Matty Parker both joined from Portadown, Luke Fisher signed from Glenavon, Alan Blayney came in from Dundela while Darren Murray, Darius Roohi and Seanna Foster all joined Matthew Tipton's ranks as well.



ARDS IN: Scott Davidson (Welders), Michael McLellan (Linfield), Scott Johnston (Welders), Jonny Frazer (Linfield)

ARDS OUT: Emmet Friars (Ballymena), David McCullough (Portadown), Stuart McMullan (Released)

BALLINAMALLARD IN: Richard Clarke (Crusaders)

BALLINAMALLARD OUT: Ryan Mayse (Dungannon), Chris Crilly (Released), Shane McCabe (Retired)

BALLYMENA UTD IN: Ross Glendinning (Linfield), Michael Gault (Crusaders), Emmett Friars (Ards), Stephen McAlorum (Glentoran), Stephen McCullough (Carrick)

BALLYMENA UTD OUT: Kyle McVey (Released), Denver Gage (Released), Gavin Taggart (Released), Darren Henderson (Released), Stephen McBride (Released)


CARRICK OUT: Brian Neeson (Cliftonville), Daniel Kelly (Glentoran), Stephen McCullough (Ballymena United)

CLIFTONVILLE IN: Joe Gormley (Peterborough), Brian Neeson (Carrick)


COLERAINE IN: Josh Carson (Linfield), David Kee (Linfield), Aaron Traynor (Warrenpoint), Stephen O'Donnell (Institute)

COLERAINE OUT: Neil McCafferty (Released), Jordan Allan (Released), Gary Twigg (Released)

CRUSADERS IN: Mark McAllister (Portadown), Brian Jensen (Unattached)

CRUSADERS OUT: Richard Clarke (Ballinamallard), Andy Mitchell (Linfield), Michael Gault (Ballymena), Alan Keane (Retired)

DUNGANNON IN: Ryan Mayse (Ballinamallard), Liam McMenamin (Strabane Athletic)

DUNGANNON OUT: Andy Mitchell (Glenavon)

GLENAVON IN: Andy Mitchell (Dungannon)

GLENAVON OUT: Luke Fisher (Warrenpoint), Renato de Sanches (Released), James Gray (Released), Andy Kilmartin (Portadown), David Elebert (Released)

GLENTORAN IN:  John McGuigan (Warrenpoint), Dylan Davidson (Preston), Daniel Kelly (Carrick), Corey McMullan (Ballyclare)

GLENTORAN OUT: Stephen O'Flynn (Released), Stephen McAlorum (Ballymena), Nacho Novo (Released), Ciaran Caldwell (Released), Chris Lavery (Portadown), David Scullion (Released), Jay Magee (Released)

LINFIELD IN: Jordan Stewart (Swindon), Robbie Garrett (Portadown), Andy Mitchell (Crusaders)

LINFIELD OUT: Seanna Foster (Warrenpoint), David Kee (Coleraine), Ross Glendinning (Ballymena), Adam Salley (Portadown), Josh Carson (Coleraine), Kris Bright (Released), Ross Gaynor (Released), Michael McLellan (Ards), Sammy Clingan (Released), Sean Ward (Released), Jonny Frazer (Ards), TJ Murray (Released)

WARRENPOINT IN: Darren Murray (Crumlin Star), Sean Mackle (Portadown), Matty Parker (Portadown), Darius Roohi (PSNI), Alan Blayney (Dundela), Seanna Foster (Linfield), Luke Fisher (Glenavon)

WARRENPOINT OUT: Phillip Donnelly (Released), Stephen Maguire (Released), Dermot McVeigh (Released), John McGuigan (Glentoran)

Belfast Telegraph