Belfast Telegraph

NIFL announce key dates ahead of 2018/19 season

By Adam McKendry

The Northern Ireland Football League (NIFL) have announced several key dates throughout the season ahead of the fixtures release at the end of the month.

The season will start on Saturday, August 4 with the opening round of Danske Bank Premiership fixtures, the full list of which will be announced on Friday, June 29.

The festive fixtures are pencilled in for Boxing Day, Saturday December 29 and New Year's Day, with the mid-season split coming on Saturday, March 23.

The season will end on Saturday, April 27 with the European playoffs running from May 3-11 and the promotion/relegation play-off legs on May 3 and May 6.

The Bluefin Sport Championship will begin a week after the Premiership on August 11, while the Bluefin Sport Premier Intermediate League begins a further week after that on August 18.

Meanwhile, the first round of the BetMcLean League Cup will also take place on Saturday, August 4, with the final held on Saturday, February 16.

A full list of the key dates can be found below.

Danske Bank Premiership

Fixtures release date: Friday 29 June 2018

Opening round of fixtures: Saturday 4 August 2018

Festive fixtures: Wednesday 26 December 2018, Saturday 29 December 2018 & Tuesday 1 January 2019

Final round of fixtures before 'split': Saturday 23 March 2019

Final round of fixtures: Saturday 27 April 2019

European Playoff fixtures: Friday 3 May 2019 - Saturday 11 May 2019

Premiership Promotion & Relegation Playoff dates: Friday 3 May 2019 & Monday 6 May 2019

Bluefin Sport Championship

Fixtures release date: Friday 29 June 2018

Opening round of fixtures: Saturday 11 August 2018

Festive fixtures: Wednesday 26 December 2018 & Saturday 29 December 2018.

Final round of fixtures before 'split': 12 January 2019

Final round of fixtures: Saturday 27 April 2019

Championship Promotion & Relegation Playoff dates: Tuesday 30 April 2019

Bluefin Sport Premier Intermediate League

Fixtures release date: Friday 29 June 2018

Opening round of fixtures: Saturday 18 August 2018

Festive fixtures: Saturday 29 December 2018

Final round of fixtures: Saturday 27 April 2019

BetMcLean League Cup

First round: Saturday 4 August 2018

Second round: Tuesday 28 August 2018

Third round: Tuesday 9 October 2018

Quarter finals: Monday 12 November 2018

Semi finals: Tuesday 4 December 2018

Final: Saturday 16 February 2019

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.

Popular

From Belfast Telegraph