Belfast Telegraph

McConkey keeps big names in for junior international in Limerick

By Keith Bailie

Junior International manager Harry McConkey has named an experienced squad for the forthcoming Umbro Quadrangular Tournament in Limerick.

The amateur international tournament will run from October 3-5, with Northern Ireland facing representatives from Scotland, the Isle of Man and host nation the Republic of Ireland.

McConkey has already had a fantastic 2013. He guided his side to the last eight of the prestigious Regions Cup last season, after winning two separate qualifying groups, taking his team to Macedonia, San Marino and Venice.

For the Regions Cup, McConkey is not allowed to pick players who have played in the Irish Premiership. With no such restrictions in place for the Quadrangular Tournament, the former Dergview boss has the pick of the Belfast Telegraph Championship to select from.

McConkey has brought in the experienced figures of Gary Haveron, Paddy McLaughlin, Pat McShane and Wesley Boyle. Former Linfield full-back McShane turns 39 in November, while Wesley Boyle is a former Northern Ireland Under-21 international.

Steven McKay, Jeff Brady, Paul Maguire, Scott McMillen and Colum Curtis have all played for McConkey before in the Regions Cup, while the likes of Aaron Walsh and Kyle Cherry will be representing Northern Ireland for the first time.

Shankill United's Scott McMillan is the only player selected from outside the Belfast Telegraph Championship. Josh Cahoon is on the books of Dungannon Swifts, but is available for selection as he is currently on loan at Harland & Wolff Welders.

Northern Ireland will play the Isle of Man on Thursday, October 3, in Limerick, before playing Scotland on the Friday. They will finish the tournament with game against Gerry Smith's Republic of Ireland side on Saturday.

Scotland are the current reigning championship, winning the last tournament in 2010, while Northern Ireland haven't won the competition since 1996.

Goalkeepers: Michael Doherty (Institute), Steven McKay (Dundela)

Defendesr: Scott McMillan (Shankill United), Gary Haveron (Carrick Rangers), Paddy McLaughlin (Institute), Andrew Doyle (Ballyclare Comrades), Jeff Brady (Loughgall), Pat McShane (Larne)

Midfielders: Aaron Harmon (Carrick Rangers), Daniel Burns (Glentoran), Wesley Boyle (Loughgall), Corey Davidson (Carrick Rangers), Michael McCrudden (Institute), Aaron Walsh (Institute), Steven Ferguson (Loughgall), Kyle Cherry (Dundela)

Forwards: Kevin Hughes (Donegal Celtic), Josh Cahoon (Harland & Wolff Welders), Paul Maguire (Larne), Colum Curtis (Knockbreda)

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph