| 7.2°C Belfast

Villagers miss out as McVeigh’s spot on for Donegal Celtic


Donegal Celtic celebrate winning the Intermediate Cup

Donegal Celtic celebrate winning the Intermediate Cup

Donegal Celtic celebrate winning the Intermediate Cup

Loughall and Donegal Celtic continued their epic season-long duel with the Intermediate Cup final at Ballyskeagh last night with The Hoops claiming the spoils after a tense penalty shoot out.

Donegal Celtic got off to a flying start in their second WKD Intermediate Cup decider in as many years.

Last time DC lost out to Amateur League side Knockbreda on penalties, but this year they were determined to go one better, even with sterner opposition in the form of Loughgall.

On eight minutes Liam Bradley floated a stunning pass into the box for Stephen O'Neill to cushion into the path of Paul McVeigh. McVeigh controlled the ball expertly before half volleying the ball past Marc Robinson.

In the second-half Celtic looked to have sealed the cup in the 69th minute when Robinson failed to hold a Liam Bradley drive.

It seemed to squirm over the line before Robinson gathered the ball, but the linesman and referee Ross Dunlop were having none of it, leaving DC furious.

Loughgall eventually levelled with 30 seconds of injury time remaining, Neil Alderdice heading in the equaliser after Declan Brown flapped at Ryan Moffatt's corner. Neither side could break the deadlock in extra-time and the match headed to penalties.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Both sides converted their first three penalties before Declan Brown saved from Aaron Baker. Andy Cleary scored for DC, Paul Evans made it 4-4 and that left it to Paul McVeigh to win the cup for DC and the ace striker made no mistake with the fifth spot kick.

Donegal Celtic: Brown, Heagney, Lambe, Spence, Curran, McAlorum, Gargin, L Bradley, O’Neill, McAlister, McVeigh. Subs: Cleary, Adamzyck, Duff, C Bradley, Kelly, .

Loughgall: Robinson, Waddell, Alderdice, Peden, W Heron, Moffatt, Hawthorne, McVeigh, McDowell, Evans, Lavery, Subs: Baker, Harrison, Ebron, S Heron.

Referee: Ross Dunlop.

Top Videos