Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

McShane replaces injured Foley

Kevin Foley's Euro 2012 dreams have been shattered after he was left out of Ireland's final squad because of injury, Giovanni Trapattoni has confirmed.

The Wolves defender's place will be taken by Paul McShane, who is in Italy with the party after being drafted in as defensive cover amid a series of fitness concerns.

Foley reported with a hamstring problem and has been working ever since in an effort to shake it off, but on Tuesday morning he became the second man to be sent home following Birmingham midfielder Keith Fahey's departure at the weekend.

Trapattoni said: "Although Kevin has been recovering well, I have made the difficult decision to leave him out of the 23-player list after completing fitness tests on John O'Shea and Paul McShane. I have spoken to him and understand how difficult it is, saying that he can remain with the squad if he wishes."

Ironically, Foley trained at the Stadio Comunale Alberto Benedetti in Borgo A Buggiano on Monday night, while McShane did not after suffering a bruised heel during Saturday's 1-0 friendly victory over Bosnia-Herzegovina in Dublin.

However, the inclusion of goalkeeper Shay Given and defender O'Shea, who have both been nursing injuries in the last week, suggests Trapattoni is confident they will both be fit in time for the opening fixture at the finals against Croatia on June 10.

Trapattoni said: "With the injuries that we experienced in the squad over the past week, I have had to make a tough decision when it comes to naming the 23 players that must be submitted to UEFA for the championship.

"Kevin Foley, John O'Shea, Paul McShane, Darren O'Dea, Shay Given had all been carrying knocks and we have been monitoring them closely in their recovery."

Ireland squad: 1. Shay Given (Aston Villa), 2. Sean St Ledger (Leicester), 3. Stephen Ward (Wolves), 4. John O'Shea (Sunderland), 5. Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), 6. Glenn Whelan (Stoke), 7. Aiden McGeady (Spartal Moscow), 8. Keith Andrews (West Brom), 9. Kevin Doyle (Wolves), 10. Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), 11. Damien Duff (Fulham).

12. Stephen Kelly (Fulham), 13. Paul McShane (Hull), 14. Jonathan Walters (Stoke), 15. Darron Gibson (Everton), 16. Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), 17. Stephen Hunt (Wolves), 18. Darren O'Dea (Celtic), 19. Shane Long (West Brom), 20. Simon Cox (West Brom), 21. Paul Green (Derby), 22. James McClean (Sunderland), 23. David Forde (Millwall).


From Belfast Telegraph