Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

NI futsal side get ready for Home Nations Championship this weekend

The GAWA will take on England, Scotland and Wales at St George's Park

The Northern Ireland Futsal squad that will head to St George's Park for the Home Internationals. PIC:
The Northern Ireland Futsal squad that will head to St George's Park for the Home Internationals. PIC:

Northern Ireland Futsal Head Coach Jonathan Michael has named his squad for the upcoming Home Nations Championship taking place at St George’s Park in England this weekend.

The competition will take place at the FA’s performance centre from this Friday to Sunday.

Northern Ireland first face Wales at 5pm on Friday, followed by hosts England on Saturday at 4pm and finish off against Scotland on Sunday with kick off at 1pm.

Speaking to about the Championship, Michael said: "The players and backroom staff are excited about being involved in another Home Nations Championship this year. We are continuing to make great strides in our futsal journey and believe we are as competitive as we have ever been.”

"This Home Nations Championship weekend is a fantastic opportunity for people to engage with the game of Futsal and witness exciting International matches.

"I hope that we can get some of the GAWA to St George’s Park to get behind the boys and help them raise their performance." 

For those that can’t make the journey, the games can be access via the BBC Red Button and the BBC Sport website.

Northern Ireland futsal squad

Goalkeepers: Matthew McErlain (Sparta Belfast Futsal Club), Philip Irvine (World United Futsal Club)

Defenders: Adam Barr (Baku United Futsal Club), John Gibson (Banbridge Town Futsal Club), James Gould (Banbridge Town Futsal Club), Ryan Dabbs (Cardiff University Futsal Club)

Wingers: Scott Gunn (Durham Futsal Club), Craig Taylor (Banbridge Town Futsal Club), Danny Stapleton (Manchester Futsal Club), Jordan Wilson (Sparta Belfast Futsal Club), Conor Glenholmes (Wattcell Futsal Club), Josh Lowry (Sparta Belfast Futsal Club), Conor Kernohan (Bolton Futsal Club)

Forwards: Darius Roohi (E.D. Brunete Futsala), Connor Millar (Reading Royals Futsal Club), Chris Donnelly (Wattcell Futsal Club)


Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph