Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Northern Ireland duo on PFA Championship Team of the Year


Jamal Lewis of Norwich City has been named on the PFA Championship Team of the Year
Jamal Lewis of Norwich City has been named on the PFA Championship Team of the Year

Norwich City defender Jamal Lewis and Sheffield United midfielder Oliver Norwood have been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Championship Team of the Year 2019.

Lewis is joined by the division’s 28-goal top scorer Teemu Pukki and fellow Canaries full-back Max Aarons.

Daniel Farke’s side are top of the table with two games left and need just a point at home to Blackburn on Saturday to secure promotion back to the Premier League after a three-year absence.

PA Graphic

Sheffield United are just three points behind the Canaries, with the pair now looking set to fight for the title. Blades duo Norwood and Billy Sharp both make the PFA selection.

Midfielder Norwood initially joined on loan from Brighton before making the move permanent in January and has notched three goals for Chris Wilder’s side.

Striker Sharp has scored 23 league goals and in January became the top scorer in English league football this century, passing Rickie Lambert.

The 33-year-old and Pukki are joined up front by Aston Villa’s Tammy Abraham, on loan from Chelsea.

Sheffield United midfielder Oliver Norwood
Sheffield United midfielder Oliver Norwood

The England Under-21 international has again underlined his credentials with 25 goals, which have helped drive Villa on towards securing a place in the top six.

Team-mate Jack Grealish is also included, despite missing three months of the campaign with a shin injury.

The midfielder returned in March and has helped inspire Dean Smith’s side to a record 10 consecutive wins as they booked a play-off spot with a 1-0 victory over Millwall on Easter Monday.

Defeats to Wigan and Brentford over Easter look likely to force Leeds to settle for a play-off spot.

Nevertheless, centre-backs Liam Cooper and Pontus Jansson, along with winger Pablo Hernandez, have made the PFA XI, which was voted for by their fellow players.

Hernandez has scored 12 goals this season while Cooper and Jansson, who have both started 35 games, have formed the bedrock of Leeds’ promotion challenge.

In goal, Middlesbrough’s Darren Randolph has been selected having kept 19 clean sheets for Tony Pulis’ team this season, despite Boro’s inconsistent form.

The players will be honoured at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 28.

PFA Championship Team of the Year 2019: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Max Aarons (Norwich), Liam Cooper (Leeds), Pontus Jansson (Leeds), Jamal Lewis (Norwich), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Pablo Hernandez (Leeds), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa), Teemu Pukki (Norwich)



From Belfast Telegraph