Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Northern Ireland teenagers to play Brazil in glamour friendly

Northern Ireland will played Brazil later this week for only the seconf time since 1986.

It might only be the Under 16s going head-to-head but the two nations have only met once at any level since the two senior sides played in the 1986 World Cup finals, Brazil winning 3-0. That was when the they faced off at the 2004 Milk Cup, Northern Ireland winning 2-1

The game will be played on Friday at Dungannon Swifts' Stangmore Park (kick-off 5pm) as part of Northern Ireland’s preparations for this year’s Victory Shield tournament, which is being held in Northern Ireland next month. Entry to the match is free.

Darren Murphy, coach of the Northern Ireland Schoolboys side, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity for our players to test themselves against one of the biggest countries in the world.

“Our boys are really looking forward to the game which will be perfect preparation for the Victory Shield. The boys have been fantastic all year and are undefeated at this level.”

The Brazilian squad features players from some of the leading teams in the South American country, including Palmeiras, Flamengo, Santos and Corinthians among others. And they even have a player called Kaka in their ranks.

The 72nd Victory Shield will be staged from 22 October to 27 October, with all games between NI, RoI, Wales and Scotland being played at Crusaders FC’s Seaview Stadium in Belfast and at the Bangor Fuels Arena, home of Ards FC and Bangor FC.

Northern Ireland

Goalkeepers - Liam Hughes (Dungannon Swifts), Conor Byrne (Glenavon); Defenders - Jesse Carson, Trai Hume and Lewis McKinnon (all Linfield); John McGivern and Dylan Snodden (both Cliftonville), Dylan Boyle (Ridgeway Rovers); Midfielders – Carl Johnson and Lee Rea (both Linfield), Chris Hutchinson (Portadown), Peter McKiernan (Cliftonville); Barry Baggley (Glentoran), Gerard Storey (Ridgeway Rovers), Marito Marcel (Dungannon Youth), Caolan McBride (Glentoran); Forwards – Alberto Balde (Portadown), Aaron Brown (Linfield), George Tipton (Ridgeway Rovers), Harry Anderson (Portadown), Coleen Opongo (Cliftonville).


Goalkeepers – Cristian de Lima (Atletico Mineiro), Matheus Planelles Donelli (Corinthians); Defenders – Renan Victor da Silva and Henri Marinho dos Santos (both Palmeiras), Gabriel Rodrigues Noga (Flamengo), Pedro Lucas Pereira Silva (Recife), Yan Bueno Couto (Coritiba), Cadu - Carlos Eduardo Bertolassi da Silva (Santos), Eduardo Pinto de Jesus (Vitoria); Midfielders – Daniel Cabral De Oliveira (Flamengo), Fabinho – Fabio Silva de Freitas (Palmeiras), Ivonei Junior da Silva Rabelo (Santos), Diego Gabriel Silva Rosa (Vitoria), Giovanni Manson Ribeiro (Santos), Talles Macedo Toledo Costa (Sao Paulo), Reinier Jesus Carvalho (Flamengo); Forwards – Pedro Arthur Bitencourt Machedo (Juventude), Kaka – Carlos Antonio de Oliveira Costa (Fluminense), Gabriel Veron Fonseca de Souza (Palmeiras), Gabriel Silva Vieira (Palmeiras), Kaio Jorge Pinto Ramos (Santos), Joao Gabriel Martins Peglow (Internacional).

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph