Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

O'Neill names 37-man Ireland squad

Republic of Ireland boss Martin O'Neill has named a provisional 37-man squad for next month's Euro 2016 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Germany.

Veteran Shay Given is included once again as one of five goalkeepers, while there is a return for Rotherham midfielder Paul Green, who was injured last month.

However, there is no place for West Ham defender Joey O'Brien, who was forced to withdraw from the party for the friendly against Oman and the opening Group D qualifier in Georgia earlier this month.

O'Neill said: "I am looking forward to meeting up with the squad in two weeks' time and preparing for two very important matches."

Given will hope for an opportunity to added a 127th senior cap to the 126th he collected against Oman, although Millwall's David Forde got the nod in Georgia, while Sunderland skipper John O'Shea will become the latest man to reach a century of caps for Ireland if he plays in both games.

Ireland launched their bid for qualification with a last-gasp victory in Tbilisi as Everton midfielder Aiden McGeady capped perhaps his best display yet for his country with a late winner having earlier given them the lead.

Newcomers Gibraltar, who were trounced 7-0 at home by Poland last month, are unlikely to prove as troublesome at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on October 11 as the Georgians on their own pitch, but the trip to Gelsenkirchen which follows three days later will arguably be the toughest of the entire campaign.

The Republic were paired with the reigning World champions Germany in the qualifiers for this summer's finals in Brazil and were thumped 6-1 at home in a result which almost cost then manager Giovanni Trapattoni his job, and 3-0 in Cologne in the return under caretaker Noel King.

Squad: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (Birmingham), Rob Elliot (Newcastle); Richard Keogh (Derby), Marc Wilson (Stoke), Seamus Coleman (Everton), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce, Stephen Kelly (both Reading), Paul McShane (Hull), Damien Delaney (Crystal Palace), Shane Duffy (Blackburn), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa) Stephen Ward (Burnley); James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Darron Gibson (Everton), Andy Reid (Nottingham Forest), Paul Green (Rotherham), Aiden McGeady (Everton), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff), James McClean (Wigan), Robbie Brady, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler (all Hull), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich); Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton, Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Jon Walters (Stoke) Kevin Doyle (Crystal Palace), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), Simon Cox (Reading), Conor Sammon (Ipswich).


From Belfast Telegraph