Belfast Telegraph

Bans should benefit club that was wronged, insists angry Hughes

By Phil Medlicott

Stoke boss Mark Hughes has suggested Manuel Lanzini's ban for diving should apply for West Ham's next match against the Potters.

Hughes was left fuming over referee Graham Scott's decision last Saturday to award a penalty when Lanzini went down in the Stoke box.

The FA subsequently announced Lanzini had been charged with diving, and then following his denial of the charge, that it had been upheld, with the Argentinian having to serve a two-game suspension.

That ruled him out of Tuesday's Carabao Cup quarter-final against Arsenal, and he will also miss the Premier League clash today with struggling Newcastle.

The penalty Lanzini won was converted by Mark Noble to make it 1-0 in what finished as a 3-0 defeat for Hughes' men.

Hughes said: "Newcastle get the benefit because he is not playing against them. The only team who don't get any benefit is ourselves."

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.

Popular

From Belfast Telegraph