Belfast Telegraph

Can red-hot Manchester City break the Premier League's goal-scoring record?

Manchester City's red-hot start in front of goal has them top of the Premier League on goal difference - but can they keep it up?

Pep Guardiola's men have scored 16 goals in their last three games and 21 in all and here, Press Association Sport looks back at the most prolific seasons in Premier League history.

103 - CHELSEA 2009-10

The record City will be chasing dates from eight years ago, when Chelsea swept all before them under Carlo Ancelotti en route to the Premier League and FA Cup double.

Didier Drogba contributed 29 of their 103 goals, rounded off by a hat-trick in their 8-0 win over Wigan on the last day of the season. They also hit seven in a match on three other occasions, beating Sunderland 7-2, Aston Villa 7-1 with four goals from Frank Lampard and Stoke 7-0. Their goal difference of 71 was also a Premier League record.

102 - MANCHESTER CITY 2013-14

City will have to keep up their scorching early pace if they are to rival their own highest-scoring season four years ago . They again started fast, beating Newcastle 4-0 in their first game and rivals Manchester United 4-1 in their fifth, while other big wins came against Norwich (7-0), Tottenham (6-0 and 5-1), Arsenal (6-3) and Fulham (5-0).

A hat-trick in the latter game helped midfielder Yaya Toure to 20 Premier League goals while Sergio Aguero added 17 and Edin Dzeko 16. They scored 156 in all competitions and were the first team in history to reach 100 before the end of January.

101 - LIVERPOOL 2013-14

City were pushed all the way by Liverpool for that season's title, with Brendan Rodgers' side also deadly in front of goal as Luis Suarez racked up 31 league goals - with three hat-tricks, including four goals in December's 5-1 win over Norwich - and Daniel Sturridge added 21.

Eleven straight wins put them on course for the title until they lost 2-0 to Chelsea and threw away a three-goal lead to draw with Crystal Palace as the quest to boost their goal difference ahead of City's proved costly.

97 - MANCHESTER UNITED 1999-2000

United retained the title by a thumping 18-point margin over Arsenal with Sir Alex Ferguson able to call on perhaps the best range of attacking options in his long tenure at the club.

Dwight Yorke was United's top scorer with 20 league goals while Paul Scholes hit a hat-trick in a 7-1 demolition of West Ham and there were 5-1 wins over Newcastle and Everton featuring four-goal hauls for Andy Cole and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer respectively.

Things were not so rosy at the other end of the field, with 45 goals conceded as Ferguson cycled through Mark Bosnich and the hapless Massimo Taibi before settling on Fabien Barthez in goal.

93 - MANCHESTER CITY 2011-12

City's 6-1 derby win in October proved to be as crucial as it was memorable - two goals from Dzeko and one from David Silva from the 89th minute onwards seemed at the time cosmetic additions to the scoreline, but ultimately helped clinch a first league title of the Premier League era on goal difference alone from United.

There were also back-to-back wins in April against West Brom and Norwich by scorelines of 4-0 and 6-1, Aguero scoring twice in each game while Carlos Tevez hit a hat-trick against the Canaries. Aguero finished with 23 goals, with Dzeko and Mario Balotelli also hitting double figures.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph