Belfast Telegraph

Chelsea dominate PFA selection

Six Chelsea players have been named in the Professional Footballers' Association Premier League team of the year.

Jose Mourinho's men are on the brink of a first title since 2010 and their dominance over the past nine months was highlighted by a cluster of blue shirts in the XI announced by the PFA on Sunday.

Manchester United's David de Gea was selected in goal, behind a back four who were all on Chelsea's books at the start of the season.

Centre-back pairing John Terry and Gary Cahill were joined by Branislav Ivanovic and Ryan Bertrand, the latter of whom signed permanently for Southampton in February having joined on loan last summer.

Eden Hazard, favourite for the main individual award after a superb campaign in which he has notched 18 goals for the Stamford Bridge outfit, was in midfield along with club colleague Nemanja Matic, Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho and Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez.

Tottenham forward Harry Kane - tipped to be crowned young player of the year at London's Grosvenor Hotel later on Sunday - was the only English attacking player, chosen up front alongside Chelsea's 19-goal striker Diego Costa.

The 21-year-old posted on Twitter soon after the announcement: "A Huge privilege to be named in the @PFA team of the year! Big thanks to all the players that voted for me! #PFA #PFATeamOfTheYear."

Troy Deeney, fresh from firing Watford back into the top flight, was the sole Hornets representative in the Championship team of the season.

PFA team of the year: David De Gea (Man Utd); Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea); Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal); Harry Kane (Tottenham), Diego Costa (Chelsea).

Championship team of the year: Keiren Westwood (Sheff Wed); George Friend (Middlesbrough), Russell Martin (Norwich), Richard Keogh (Derby), Simon Francis (Bournemouth); Alex Pritchard (Brentford), Bakary Sako (Wolves), Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough), Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth); Troy Deeney (Watford), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich).

League One team of the year: Frank Fielding (Bristol City); Joe Bryan (Bristol City), Aden Flint (Bristol City), Tom Clarke (Preston), Nathan Byrne (Swindon); Korey Smith (Bristol City), Massimo Luongo (Swindon), Luke Freeman (Bristol City), Dele Alli (MK Dons); Eoin Doyle (Chesterfield), Joe Garner (Preston).

League Two team of the year: Daniel Bentley (Southend); Ben Coker (Southend), Conor Goldson (Shrewsbury), Steve McNulty (Luton), Phil Edwards (Burton); Danny Mayor (Bury), Jed Wallace (Portsmouth), Matt Grimes (Exeter), Ryan Woods (Shrewsbury); Reuben Reid (Plymouth), Matt Tubbs (Portsmouth).

Women's Super League team of the year: Carly Telford (Notts County); Rachel Corsie (Notts County), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Emma Mitchell (Arsenal), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool); Jill Scott (Manchester City), Karen Carney (Birmingham), Ji So-Yun (Chelsea), Josanne Potter (Birmingham); Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Nikita Parris (Everton).


From Belfast Telegraph