Belfast Telegraph

Demarai Gray in the clear over Carabao Cup penalty

Leicester winger Demarai Gray will not face any action for his alleged dive in Tuesday night's Carabao Cup defeat to Manchester City, the Football Association has announced.

Gray went down under a challenge from Kyle Walker to win Leicester a controversial stoppage-time penalty, which was converted by Jamie Vardy to force the quarter-final tie into extra-time.

City went on to win the penalty shootout 4-3 thanks to goalkeeper Claudio Bravo's heroics, but the penalty incident was a major talking point in light of the FA's bid to stamp out diving.

This latest incident occurred deep into time-added-on and video footage had been referred by the FA to an expert advisory panel to judge whether Gray could be charged with simulation.

In order for the FA to take action a three-man panel must all agree without any conferring and in this case, the FA confirmed, the decision reached was not unanimous, so Gray cannot be punished retrospectively.

Everton striker Oumar Niasse became the first Premier League player to be banned for diving under the FA's new laws when he was handed a two-game suspension for 'successful deception of a match official' in November.

West Ham's Manuel Lanzini was the second top-flight player to be banned for diving as his appeal to have his ban overturned was rejected on Tuesday.

Lanzini had been hit with a two-game ban for diving in his side's recent 3-0 win at Stoke when video replays clearly showed he had gone down without any contact having been made by home defender Erik Pieters.


Independent News & Media

404 Page not found

Sorry, but the page you are looking for has not been found. Try checking the URL for errors, then hit the refresh button on your browser.


From Belfast Telegraph