| 7.1°C Belfast

Eight Leicester and Tottenham aces included in team of the year


In the team: Tottenham's Harry Kane

In the team: Tottenham's Harry Kane

In the team: Tottenham's Harry Kane

Title rivals Leicester and Tottenham make up the majority of the PFA Premier League team of the year, with eight of the notional 11 coming from the two sides.

The team was due to be announced as standard at the PFA awards on Sunday, but the unveiling was brought forward.

Included in the side are Leicester quartet Wes Morgan, N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, with Tottenham’s Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane also named.

The three remaining slots go to Manchester United stopper David De Gea, Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin and West Ham’s Dimitri Payet.

Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil — shortlisted for the PFA Player award alongside Kane, Kante, Mahrez, Payet and Vardy — was omitted.

Four Burnley players are named in the Championship side — goalkeeper Tom Heaton, defender Will Keane, midfielder Joey Barton and striker Andre Gray — with two and a half from Middlesbrough.

The half comes from Daniel Ayala sharing his defensive shirt with Hull’s Michael Dawson, although Adam Clayton and George Friend are named without dispute.

PFA PL team of the year: David De Gea (Man Utd); Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Danny Rose (Tottenham); Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Dele Alli (Tottenham), N’Golo Kante (Leicester), Dimitri Payet (West Ham); Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Harry Kane (Tottenham).

Belfast Telegraph