| 7.3°C Belfast

Mohamed Salah hoping to halt Manchester City celebrations at PFA awards

Egyptian star has enjoyed an incredible debut campaign at Anfield.


Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah could prevent further Manchester City celebrations by winning the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award on Sunday night.

The Egyptian scored in both legs as Liverpool knocked City out of the Champions League earlier this month and is rated as the bookmakers’ favourite to win the vote of his peers ahead of Blues trio Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Leroy Sane.

Salah has been simply sensational since moving to Anfield from Roma last summer. He and his team-mates will come up against the Italian side in the Champions League semi-final first leg next week.

He scored his 40th goal in all competitions for Liverpool in the Premier League win over Bournemouth last weekend and his form, alongside fellow forwards Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane, means Jurgen Klopp’s men have suffered no ill-effects from the January departure of Philippe Coutinho to Barcelona.

Salah can already count on one significant vote – fellow nominee De Bruyne revealed he had chosen the African as his stand-out player of the season.

De Bruyne has been outstanding in City’s march to the Premier League title. His technical quality has been a key component in the slick football played by Pep Guardiola’s side, and has registered a league-leading 15 assists so far.

He has also weighed in with seven goals.

Lightning-quick Germany winger Sane is second in the assists table with 12 and has also scored nine times in the Premier League.

Silva has now won three Premier League titles with City, having also been part of the squad which lifted the trophy in 2012 and 2014.

The Spain playmaker has eight goals and 11 assists to his name in a City team which has dominated the competition this year.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea make up the six-man award shortlist.

England forward Kane reached 100 career Premier League goals in February, while Spanish stopper De Gea has enjoyed another excellent campaign for United, and will be hoping to become the first goalkeeper to win the award since Peter Shilton in 1978.


David de Gea has been one of United's best performers this season

David de Gea has been one of United's best performers this season


David de Gea has been one of United's best performers this season

His City counterpart Ederson has proved to be an excellent addition for his club after goalkeeper proved a problem position for Guardiola last season. His reward is a place on the Young Player of the Year shortlist.

Ederson’s team-mate Raheem Sterling is also nominated in that category and has been impressive in front of goal this term, and his 17 league strikes place him joint fourth in the competition.

Ryan Sessegnon is the youngest player on the list at 17. He has been instrumental in Fulham’s push to reach the Premier League, scoring 14 times in the Sky Bet Championship.

Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford, Sane and Kane complete the Young Player of the Year shortlist, with the inclusion of Kane – who will be 25 in July – drawing social media criticism.

The PFA will also announce the Women’s Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year award winners on Sunday.

Chelsea Ladies forward Fran Kirby is widely expected to get the nod for the main award and is nominated alongside four Blues team-mates – Millie Bright, Ji So-yun, Maren Mjelde and Ramona Bachmann.

Manchester City’s Jill Scott is the only player not with the west London club to be on the list.

The nominees for Young Player of the Year are Keira Walsh, Georgia Stanway and Ellie Roebuck (all Manchester City), Lauren Hemp (Bristol City), Gabby George (Everton) and Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea).