Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Pep Guardiola wins LMA Manager of the Year award

Manchester City swept to the Premier League title with 100 points.

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola has been voted the Premier League Manager of the Year by the League Manager’s Association.

Spaniard Guardiola saw his side set a new Premier League points record of 100, scoring 106 goals along the way.

Guardiola collected his accolade at the LMA Awards dinner in London on Tuesday night, having 24 hours earlier enjoyed celebrating City’s triumph with an open-top bus parade around Manchester.

Elsewhere, Cardiff boss Neil Warnock received an LMA Special Achievement Award to mark a record eighth career promotion after taking the Welsh club up in second place in the Sky Bet Championship.

Wolves manager Nuno Espirito Santo picked up the LMA Championship award, having seen his side secure the title.

The LMA League One Manager Of The Year award went to Shrewsbury’s Paul Hurst, whose team finished third behind Blackburn and champions Wigan. The Shrews saw off Charlton to book their place in the play-off final at Wembley, where they will face either Scunthorpe or Rotherham.

John Coleman collected the League Two award after Accrington Stanley claimed the title with 93 points.

Chelsea manager Emma Hayes won the FA Women’s Super League award after leading her side to a league and cup double.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph