Belfast Telegraph

Title-winning managers who left their clubs

Claudio Ranieri became the fourth manager in the last four years to leave a Premier League club shortly after a title success. Here, Press Association Sport looks at the others.


In 2012, Mancini led Manchester City to their first league title in 44 years , with Sergio Aguero's added-time winner against QPR sparking wild celebrations inside the Etihad Stadium and denying rivals United the title. However, the Italian left after a trophyless 2012/13 season, which also saw City lose the FA Cup final to a Wigan side who were relegated to the Championship .


Ferguson, who took over as Manchester United boss in 1986, led them to another title with four games to spare in 2013, before standing down and handing over to David Moyes - however, this Scot's reign did not last quite as long.


Mourinho led Chelsea to the title in 2015 and then signed a new deal to keep him at the club until 2019. But the 2015/16 campaign started miserably and he became embroiled in a succession of controversies. Poor results ultimately resulted in the end for the Portuguese.


From Belfast Telegraph