Belfast Telegraph

Tottenham star Harry Kane on shortlist for Premier League's PFA player of the year

By Staff Reporter

Tottenham striker Harry Kane is among the six players to have been nominated for the Barclays Premier League's PFA Player of the Year award.

Kane, who has scored 19 goals in the league already this season, is joined on the shortlist by Manchester United's David de Gea, Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho, Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Chelsea duo Diego Costa and Eden Hazard.

The list was voted for by players from 100 clubs in the Premier League, Football League and Women's Super League.

Kane's nomination caps a superb breakthrough season for the 21-year-old, who has scored 30 goals in all competitions for Spurs including a first Premier League hat-trick against Leicester last month.

Coutinho, De Gea, Kane and Hazard are all named on the Young Player of the Year shortlist as well, along with Liverpool midfielder Raheem Sterling and Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois.

De Gea, who has kept 10 clean sheets in the league this season, said: "It's true that last season was good for me from a personal point of view, but I think that things are going even better for me this time around. I think I'm competing better, performing well and I think my decision-making is a lot better this season.

"I'm happy and I'm trying to keep going in the same way."

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph