Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Revealed: Who did the Northern Ireland manager, captain and journalist vote for in FIFA awards?

By Gareth Hanna

Cristiano Ronaldo beat Lionel Messi and Neymar to win the FIFA men's player of the year award at Monday night's award do. But who did the local representatives have on their voting slip?

The manager and captain of each national team vote for their top three in both the player of the year and coach of the year categories along with a media representative from each nation.

Player of the Year voting

Michael O'Neill, Steven Davis and Mark McIntosh (The Sun) casted Northern Ireland's votes and all three agreed that Ronaldo deserved to lift the award. Making up the rest of their top three, O'Neill went for Chelsea's Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante in second and third while Davis opted for Messi and Luka Modric. McIntosh named Messi second and Sergio Ramos third.

South of the border, Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill opted for Ronaldo first, Messi second and Hazard third. Captain Seamus Coleman named Ronaldo first, Messi second and Juventus' Paulo Dybala third. The Republic's journalistic representative was Philip Quinn from the Irish Daily Mail. He agreed with Ronaldo for first but went for Robert Lewandowski second and Modric third.

Ronaldo himself voted for Real Madrid team-mates Modric, Ramos and Marcelo while Messi opted for Suarez, Iniesta and Nermar.

Coach of the Year voting

Northern Ireland skipper Steven Davis didn't include his international boss in his top three, instead voting for eventual winner Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid) first, Leonardo Jardim (Monaco) second and Antonio Conte (Chelsea) third.

Michael O'Neill's votes went to Zidane, Massimillano Allegri (Juventus) and Jardim.

Seamus Coleman voted for Zidane, Conte and Allegri, while Martin O'Neill went for Zidane, Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid) and Conte.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph