Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Robinson names first Under-21 squad

Northern Ireland Under-21 boss Stephen Robinson has named a strong squad for his first match in charge of the side against Macedonia.

The 2013 UEFA European Under-21 Championship qualifier was due to be played on February 29 but was called off due to freezing conditions in Kumanovo.

The game will now take place on May 10, with a handful of players with senior caps included in the squad.

Newcastle's Shane Ferguson and full-back Ryan McGivern, who both impressed for the full national side in Michael O'Neill's first game against Norway, are standout names in the 20-man squad, while there are also calls for Jonny Gorman - a favourite under Nigel Worthington - Oliver Norwood and Watford duo Adam Thompson and Lee Hodson.

Robinson has also called up several new faces to go alongside the more established names.

There are six uncapped players in the squad, including QPR goalkeeper Gareth Deane, 17-year-old Burnley forward Shay McCarten and highly-rated Liverpool full-back Ryan McLaughlin, who joins older brother Conor in the squad.

Nottingham Forest's David Morgan, Wycombe's Matt McClure and Sunderland's Jordan Watson are the other new additions.

Squad: G Deane (QPR), C Devlin (unattached); L Hodson (Watford), A Thompson (Watford), R McKeown (Kilmarnock), C McLaughlin (Preston), R McLaughlin (Liverpool) R McGivern (Man City), J Watson (Sunderland); M Lund (Stoke), O Norwood (Man Utd), M Bryan (Watford), S Clucas (Preston), C Winchester (Oldham), J Gorman (Wolves), S Ferguson (Newcastle); W Grigg (Walsall), D Morgan (Nottm Forest), M McClure (Wycombe), S McCarten (Burnley).


From Belfast Telegraph