| 5.2°C Belfast

Robson-Kanu out of Wales squad for United States trip

The West Brom forward has won 44 caps and scored a famous Euro 2016 goal against Belgium.


Wales v Belgium – UEFA Euro 2016 – Quarter Final – Stade Pierre Mauroy

Wales v Belgium – UEFA Euro 2016 – Quarter Final – Stade Pierre Mauroy

Wales v Belgium – UEFA Euro 2016 – Quarter Final – Stade Pierre Mauroy

Hal Robson-Kanu has been omitted from the Wales squad to face Mexico in the United States on May 28.

West Brom forward Robson-Kanu has won 44 caps and is enshrined in Welsh football folklore for his ‘Cruyff turn’ goal in the Euro 2016 quarter-final victory over Belgium in Lille.

Robson Kanu, who celebrates his 29th birthday on Monday, was a regular under previous Wales boss Chris Coleman and is a cult hero among Welsh supporters.

But he misses the California friendly after new manager Ryan Giggs trimmed his squad for the Pasadena friendly from 32 to 23 on Sunday evening.

Despite being without Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale and Liverpool teenager Ben Woodburn, who are both involved in the Champions League final in Kiev, Giggs has plenty of attacking options.

Burnley’s Sam Vokes is the most senior striker and, as well as Tom Bradshaw, David Brooks and Tom Lawrence, there is an opportunity for Leicester youngster George Thomas.

Defenders Adam Matthews and Joe Rodon, wideman George Williams and striker Marley Watkins also drop out from the original 32-man party.

Goalkeeper Luke Pilling, defenders Regan Poole and Cameron Coxe and midfielder Dan James, meanwhile, will link up with the Under-21 squad, who will play Georgia in two Tbilisi friendlies next month before the European Championship campaign resumes in September.

Chelsea midfielder Isaac Christie-Davies, who has represented England at U16 and 17 level and won the FA Youth Cup twice at Stamford Bridge, is in Rob Page’s U21 squad after joining the Wales set-up.

Wales squad: Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Maxwell (Preston), A Davies (Barnsley), Williams (Everton), B Davies (Tottenham), Gunter (Reading), Lockyer (Bristol Rovers), John (Rangers), Roberts (Swansea), Mepham (Brentford), Richards (Cardiff), Evans (Sheff Utd), Ledley (Derby), King (Leicester), Ramsey (Arsenal), Wilson (Liverpool), Smith (Man City), Hedges (Barnsley), Vokes (Burnley), Bradshaw (Barnsley), Brooks (Sheff Utd), Lawrence (Derby), Thomas (Leicester).