Belfast Telegraph

World Cup 2018

Fixtures & Results

Denmark DNK 1

Australia AUS 1

REPORT

France FRA 1

Peru PER 0

REPORT

Argentina ARG 0

Croatia CRO 3

REPORT

Brazil BRA 2

Costa Rica CRI 0

REPORT

Nigeria NGA 2

Iceland ISL 0

REPORT

Serbia SRB 1

Switzerland SUI 2

REPORT

Belgium BEL 5

Tunisia TUN 2

REPORT

South Korea KOR 1

Mexico MEX 2

REPORT

Germany GER 2

Sweden SWE 1

Full Time

England ENG

Panama PAN

Japan JPN

Senegal SEN

Poland POL

Colombia COL

Saudi Arabia SAU

Egypt EGY

Uruguay URY

Russia RUS

Spain ESP

Morocco MAR

Iran IRN

Portugal POR

Denmark DNK

France FRA

Australia AUS

Peru PER

Iceland ISL

Croatia CRO

Nigeria NGA

Argentina ARG

Mexico MEX

Sweden SWE

South Korea KOR

Germany GER

Switzerland SUI

Costa Rica CRI

Serbia SRB

Brazil BRA

Senegal SEN

Colombia COL

Japan JPN

Poland POL

Panama PAN

Tunisia TUN

England ENG

Belgium BEL

Home Sport Football Scottish

Betfred Cup final referee asked Scott Sinclair if he dived, claims Motherwell's Northern Irish keeper Trevor Carson

Motherwell goalkeeper Trevor Carson has claimed that referee Craig Thomson asked Celtic's Scott Sinclair if he dived, after awarding a penalty kick.

The official adjudged Sinclair to have been fouled by Motherwell defender Cedric Kipre, who was immediately sent off.

Moussa Dembele tucked away the spot-kick to put the game beyond Celtic's opponents but Motherwell boss Stephen Robinson was less than impressed with the decision: "There is no contact and with the red card the game is effectively over. It completely changes the game."

And his goalkeeper Trevor Carson says that Craig Thomson 'bought' Sinclair's actions to award the penalty.

"I think the referee even asked Scott Sinclair has he dived, which is a bit strange," he said.

"It is just incredible. He is adamant he didn't dive, and maybe when he is going so fast it doesn't take much for him to go over.

"He is a clever player and I think the referee has bought it. It is incredible the referee spoke to him. I asked Scott himself because I was convinced he had dived. There is nothing in it, but I'm not going to call Scott a cheat."

Sinclair, however, is adamant that Thomson was right to point to the spot.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.

Popular

From Belfast Telegraph