Betfred Cup final referee asked Scott Sinclair if he dived, claims Motherwell's Northern Irish keeper Trevor Carson
Motherwell goalkeeper Trevor Carson has claimed that referee Craig Thomson asked Celtic's Scott Sinclair if he dived, after awarding a penalty kick.
The official adjudged Sinclair to have been fouled by Motherwell defender Cedric Kipre, who was immediately sent off.
Moussa Dembele tucked away the spot-kick to put the game beyond Celtic's opponents but Motherwell boss Stephen Robinson was less than impressed with the decision: "There is no contact and with the red card the game is effectively over. It completely changes the game."
And his goalkeeper Trevor Carson says that Craig Thomson 'bought' Sinclair's actions to award the penalty.
"I think the referee even asked Scott Sinclair has he dived, which is a bit strange," he said.
- Watch: Was this a penalty as Motherwell boss Robinson cries foul following Celtic's Betfred Cup final win?
"It is just incredible. He is adamant he didn't dive, and maybe when he is going so fast it doesn't take much for him to go over.
"He is a clever player and I think the referee has bought it. It is incredible the referee spoke to him. I asked Scott himself because I was convinced he had dived. There is nothing in it, but I'm not going to call Scott a cheat."
Sinclair, however, is adamant that Thomson was right to point to the spot.
Belfast Telegraph Digital