Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football Scottish Celtic

Brendan Rodgers becomes first boss to win top prize in Scotland and England


By Ronnie Esplin

Celtic boss Brendan Rodgers has won the PFA Scotland Manager of the Year award - emulating his feat in England. Rodgers beat Aberdeen's Derek McInnes, Partick Thistle boss Alan Archibald and Jim Duffy of Morton to the award after leading Celtic through the domestic season unbeaten so far with three Ladbrokes Premiership games and the William Hill Scottish Cup final to go.

Carnlough native Rodgers, who won the League Managers Association prize in 2014, said: "I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

"I have obviously been fortunate to have really good experiences and I was fortunate enough to win a similar award down in the Premier League in England, and that was very satisfying.

"And likewise here. It's a prestigious award and you only need to look at the people who have won it before me and the great history of Scottish coaches. I received it with great pride.

"I am very privileged and honoured to be working up here and I have thoroughly enjoyed my time," said the former Liverpool manager.

No other manager has been named Manager of the Year in both Scotland and England.

The Celtic boss could become only the third Parkhead chief to win a domestic Treble at the club with Aberdeen awaiting in the final of the Scottish Cup at Hampden on May 27.

Celtic are also currently unbeaten in 43 games as they vie to make it through the domestic season without defeat.

The Hoops' Moussa Dembele also collected one of the earlier awards of the night at the dinner in the Glasgow Hilton for goal of the year, following the champions' 24-pass move against St Johnstone.

Parkhead winger Scott Sinclair was crowned PFA Scotland's Premiership Player of the Year.

The former Swansea, Manchester City and Aston Villa player has netted 25 goals so far in his first season in Scotland.

Sinclair edged out team-mates Dembele and Stuart Armstrong along with Aberdeen winger Jonny Hayes. For the second successive season Kieran Tierney won the Young Player of the Year award after a follow-up campaign in the senior side that was as impressive as his first season.

That the 19-year-old spent a couple of months in the middle of the term injured underlines the consistency of performances that he has produced when he has been fit and available.

Tierney was not expecting to claim his award for a second year running.

"I'm surprised because the competition was brilliant this season," the 19-year-old said.

"I thought my chances would have been lower because I was out for a few months and had a couple of operations.

"I'm just grateful for the people who have voted for me."

Scotland midfielder John McGinn was voted top player in the Championship after helping Ulsterman Neil Lennon's Hibernian to the title.

Livingston forward Liam Buchanan won the League One award and Elgin's Shane Sutherland the League Two prize.

The Scotland women's national team collected a special merit award after qualifying for this summer's European Championship finals.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph