Belfast Telegraph

World Cup 2018

Fixtures & Results

Portugal POR 1

Morocco MAR 0

REPORT

Uruguay URY 1

Saudi Arabia SAU 0

REPORT

Iran IRN 0

Spain ESP 1

REPORT

Denmark DNK 1

Australia AUS 1

REPORT

France FRA 1

Peru PER 0

REPORT

Argentina ARG 0

Croatia CRO 3

REPORT

Brazil BRA

Costa Rica CRI

Nigeria NGA

Iceland ISL

Serbia SRB

Switzerland SUI

Belgium BEL

Tunisia TUN

South Korea KOR

Mexico MEX

Germany GER

Sweden SWE

England ENG

Panama PAN

Japan JPN

Senegal SEN

Poland POL

Colombia COL

Saudi Arabia SAU

Egypt EGY

Uruguay URY

Russia RUS

Spain ESP

Morocco MAR

Iran IRN

Portugal POR

Denmark DNK

France FRA

Australia AUS

Peru PER

Iceland ISL

Croatia CRO

Nigeria NGA

Argentina ARG

Mexico MEX

Sweden SWE

South Korea KOR

Germany GER

Switzerland SUI

Costa Rica CRI

Serbia SRB

Brazil BRA

Senegal SEN

Colombia COL

Japan JPN

Poland POL

Panama PAN

Tunisia TUN

England ENG

Belgium BEL

Home Sport Football Scottish Celtic

It was 'definitely a penalty', says Celtic's Scott Sinclair after Betfred Cup success

By Ronnie Esplin

Celtic winger Scott Sinclair says the referee was right to award a penalty during his side's 2-0 Betfred Cup final win over Motherwell.

Motherwell's Cedric Kipre was sent off after referee Craig Thomson adjudged him to have fouled Sinclair in the penalty area just before the hour-mark.

Beaten manager Stephen Robinson was less than impressed after the game, saying: "There is no contact and with the red card the game is effectively over."

However, Sinclair says he reckons the referee was right to award the spot-kick, which Moussa Dembele converted to double the scores and all-but end the game.

"It was definitely a pen. I’ve no qualms about that,” he said. "I felt a little bit of contact, it doesn't matter how much contact it is, he got a little tug at my arm and I went down."

But was Craig Thomson right to issue a red card for the incident?

“That’s up to the referee," said Sinclair. "If he didn’t pull me then I think I’m through on goal one-v-one. So that’s the ref’s decision but it’s definitely a penalty.”

Meanwhile, Man of the Match James Forrest, who bagged the opening goal, said: "You want to play in finals and it's another successful day at Hampden for us, we're all buzzing.

"We did start well, they came out fighting and we knew it would be tough. We got that goal early in the second half and kicked on from there.

"Every trophy you win with Celtic is unbelievable. We've won four in a row now and we're looking forward to the league, and the other cup starting in January."

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.

Popular

From Belfast Telegraph