Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Southgate set to join England’s long-serving managers with new deal

The former under-21 coach has agreed a contract through to 2022.

Gareth Southgate has signed a new contract as England manager (Owen Humphreys/PA)
Gareth Southgate has signed a new contract as England manager (Owen Humphreys/PA)

Gareth Southgate has signed a new four-year contract as England manager, taking him up to the 2022 World Cup.

Should he see out that contract Southgate, who guided England to the semi-finals in Russia this summer, will have been in charge of the Three Lions for six years.

Here, Press Association Sport looks at England’s other long-serving managers.

Walter Winterbottom (1946-62)

Walter Winterbottom remains England’s longest-serving manager (PA)

England’s first full-time manager, or chief coach as he was initially known, guided them to four World Cups including two quarter-final appearances in 1954 and 1962, where they were beaten by Uruguay and Brazil respectively. Winterbottom’s side suffered a shock defeat to the United States at the 1950 World Cup and were thumped 6-3 by Hungary at Wembley in 1953.

Alf Ramsey (1962-74)

Alf Ramsey kept his promise in 1966 (Ron Bell/PA)

Upon his appointment Ramsey vowed England would win the World Cup on home soil in 1966 and was true to his word, his selection of hat-trick hero Geoff Hurst ahead of the fit-again Jimmy Greaves in the final against West Germany proving inspired. However, his tactics were questioned as England blew a 2-0 lead against the same opposition to bow out in 1970 and he was sacked following England’s failure to qualify for the 1974 World Cup.

Ron Greenwood (1977-82)

Ron Greenwood took England to the 1982 World Cup (PA)

West Ham manager Greenwood took over following Don Revie’s acrimonious departure despite the clamour for Brian Clough to get the job. England failed to qualify for the 1978 World Cup and exited in the second group stage in 1982 despite not losing a single game at the tournament in Spain, prompting Greenwood to announce his retirement.

Bobby Robson (1982-90)

Bobby Robson was a penalty shoot-out away from the World Cup final (John Giles/PA)

Unfortunate to be defeated by Diego Maradona’s deception and genius against Argentina at the World Cup in 1986, the knives were out for Robson following a catastrophic European Championship campaign in 1988. However, England’s run to the semi-finals of Italia 90, where they were beaten in a penalty shoot-out by West Gemany, cemented Robson’s place in the nation’s hearts.

Sven-Goran Eriksson (2001-06)

Sven-Goran Eriksson reached three quarter-finals with England.

England’s first foreign coach guided them to the 2002 World Cup thanks to David Beckham’s vital equaliser against Greece deep into injury time. They reached the quarter-finals but were knocked out by Ronaldinho and Brazil. The last eight was as good as it got as twice England lost on penalties to Portugal, at Euro 2004, and the 2006 World Cup.



From Belfast Telegraph