| 8.6°C Belfast

Trio back for Republic


James McCarthy

James McCarthy

James McCarthy

Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni has recalled James McCarthy, Jon Walters and Seamus Coleman to his squad for next month's decisive Euro 2012 qualifiers against Andorra and Armenia.

Wigan midfielder McCarthy and Stoke striker Walters were left out of the party for the clashes with Slovakia and Russia earlier this month - McCarthy was later elevated from the Under-21s for the second game - after withdrawing from previous squads as the Italian sent out a message, while Coleman was injured.

All three were included in a 27-man party announced on Friday morning, although there was no place for Newcastle's in-form striker Leon Best.

Ireland travel to Andorra on Friday, October 7 and host Armenia at the Aviva Stadium four days later in their final two Group B games knowing victories in both would certainly cement second place and a play-off berth, but could yet clinch automatic qualification.

Ireland trail leaders Russia by two points after their 0-0 draw in Moscow on September 6.

However, Dick Advocaat's men will play in Slovakia on October 7 knowing anything less than full revenge for their 1-0 home defeat by the same team in September last year could let the Irish in.

Squad: Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Wolves), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Kevin Kilbane (Derby), Sean St Ledger (Leicester), Darren O'Dea (Leeds), Damien Delaney (Ipswich), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), James McCarthy (Wigan), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Keith Andrews (Ipswich) Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Andy Keogh (Leeds), Damien Duff (Fulham), Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Stephen Hunt (Wolves), Liam Lawrence (Portsmouth), Robbie Keane (Los Angeles Galaxy), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Shane Long (West Brom), Simon Cox (West Brom), Jon Walters (Stoke).