Corry Evans 'gutted' after penalty decision hands Switzerland World Cup play-off lead
Northern Ireland's Corry Evans says he is 'devastated' after referee Ovidiu Hategan awarded a penalty against the midfielder.
The Blackburn star was adjudged to have handled Xherdan Shaqiri's drive inside the box, but after the game he branded the decision 'disgraceful'.
" I clearly didn’t put my hand up," he continued, speaking to the BBC. "I know it hit me on the back of the shoulder and I’m just absolutely gutted to be honest.
“He’s booked me which means I’m out of he second-leg as well which is devastating. These things happen and I just have to get on with it.
“The lads said to keep my chin up; these things happen in football but the referee didn’t help us at all tonight.
“We have to pick ourselves up now and hopefully the lads can get a result out in Switzerland.
“It will be difficult but we have to forget about this game and focus on the game in Basel now.
“I’m absolutely devastated about the decision but the game in Basel is more important and I will be there to support them.”
Belfast Telegraph Digital