Belfast Telegraph

Live: 2014 Fifa World Cup finals draw

The 2014 Fifa World Cup finals draw takes place at 5pm at the Costa do Sauipe resort in Brazil on Friday. As the action kicks off, here's how the draw will be conducted.

The 32 countries will be split into four pots, and drawn into eight groups each containing four teams.

Pot One is the top seeds: Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Spain, Germany, Belgium and Switzerland.

Pot Two contains the unseeded South American countries and the qualifiers from Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana and Nigeria.

Pot Three is the teams from North and Central America plus Asia: Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, United States.

Pot Four contains the nine unseeded European teams: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Holland, Portugal, Russia.



At the start of the draw, one European team from Pot Four will be selected at random and added to Pot Two to make it eight countries in each pot.

The four seeded South American teams will be put into a temporary pot (Pot X) and the European team from Pot Two will be drawn in the same group as one of them.

The draw will then proceed with Pot One being emptied and the teams allocated to position one in the Groups A-H in turn.

Pots Two, Three and Four will then be emptied in order but no South American teams can be in the same group, and a maximum of two European teams are permitted per group.

Teams from Pots Two, Three and Four will have their positions in the group drawn randomly.


The 2014 Fifa World Cup line-up


Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph