Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Donegal

Dunne strikes to put Cavan in the driving seat against Donegal

Donegal 1-06 Cavan 2-14

Vital goal: Cavan’s Rory Dunne found the net in Ballybofey
Vital goal: Cavan’s Rory Dunne found the net in Ballybofey

By Chris McNulty

Cavan are in pole position in Section C of the McKenna Cup after defeating Donegal by 11 points in Ballybofey yesterday.

It was, perhaps, a little harsh on Donegal's Under-21s, who are taking the place of the county seniors in the competition.

Declan Bonner's team were well in the mix until Rory Dunne struck for a Cavan goal in the 51st minute and, with time almost up, Paul O'Connor netted another.

Dunne hammered home at the far post after Turloc Mooney didn't connect properly with his first attempt and the task was too much for Donegal thereafter.

Cavan started well with Seanie Johnston (2) and Martin Reilly scoring, but Donegal hit back when Ethan O'Donnell netted an 18th minute goal.

Mooney, Faulkner and Johnston kick-started Cavan's second half, after the teams had been level 1-2 to 0-5 at the short whistle. Conor Morrison's fisted point, Adam Neely's free and a wonder point by Jason McGee kept Donegal hopes alive, but when Dunne netted Cavan held the aces.

Cavan closed the game well as Faulkner (2), Johnston and Christopher Conroy landed points with the cherry added by O'Connor, who fisted to the net.

Donegal: D Doherty; C Morrison (0-1), S McMenamin, D Monagle; C Gibbons (0-1), K Gillespie, D Ó Baoill; T McClenaghan, M Carroll (0-1); C Doherty, M Langan, E O'Donnell (1-0); N O'Donnell, G McBride, A Neely (0-2, 1f). Subs: B McCole for Gillespie (19), J McGee (0-1, 1f) for McBride (42), D Black for Neely (46), D Gallagher for E O'Donnell (53), N Ó Baoill for Langan (58), C Diver for Doherty (60).

Cavan: J Farrelly; F Reilly, P Faulkner (0-3), K Brady; C Brady (0-1), M Reilly (0-1), G Smith (0-1); J McCutcheon, T Corr; J Dillon, T Mooney (0-1), K Clarke (0-1); S Tierney, N McKiernan, S Johnston (0-4, 4f). Subs: N McDermott (0-1, 1f) for Dillon (19), S Murray for Corr (31), R Dunne (1-0) for Tierney (half-time), C Conroy (0-1) for McKiernan (53), P O'Connor (1-0) for Mooney (58), J Hayes for Smith (66).

Referee: B Cassidy (Derry).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph