Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Donegal

Ulster quartet named in Team of the Decade

John Campbell

By John Campbell

Four Ulster players have been included in the Hogan Stand website's Team of the Decade (2010-2019).

Donegal, who won the All-Ireland title in 2012, provide three of that line-up in Neil McGee, Karl Lacey and Michael Murphy, while the fourth Ulster representative is Monaghan sharpshooter Conor McManus.

Rather surprisingly, no Tyrone players made the cut, but the inclusion of the three Donegal stars certainly recognises the immense contribution they have made to their county's status.

McGee and Murphy are still in the county squad and are expected to be on duty when the Allianz League gets up and running at the end of this month.

Murphy captained the all-conquering 2012 Donegal side.

Indeed, Donegal's feat in winning the Ulster title in 2018 and again last year owes much to superb Murphy's leadership, versatility and sheer scoring power.

McGee has confirmed that he will return this year as he pursues his sixth Ulster Championship honour. He was a key figure in the Gaoth Dobhair side which won the Donegal and Ulster titles last year.

McManus' inclusion is well deserved as he has been a consistent source of scores for Monaghan.

Monaghan won the Ulster crown in 2013 and again in 2015, and were unfortunate to lose out to Tyrone in the 2018 All-Ireland semi-finals.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph