| 8.9°C Belfast

All Saints are the invincibles

The All Saints U12 GAA squad glided to an undefeated season and signed off in style after beating Erin’s Own Cargin in the final of the SW Championship at Rasharkin.

It was a close encounter and a hard earned victory for the All-Saints by 1-8 to 2-4.

With both teams shooting out of the blocks early it was All-Saint Ronan Laverty who nicked the first goal in the second minute to put the Ballymena boys in front.

The lead however, wasn't maintained for long when Cargin's wing half forward, Sean O'Neill, diverted home a spectacular goal a few minutes later.

Both teams threatened the goal having several chances giving the spectators an exciting end-to-end match. But regardless, the first half scoreline finished level at 1-3 a piece.

The match again started in the second period with little between the two sides.

However, that all changed when the All Saints found their fifth gear — and again it was showman Laverty who found the net again when his side needed it the most.

The Saints, though, began to show their superiority in all facets of the game when Laverty and full forward Cormac Stewart found a series of white flags giving the Ballymena boys a four point lead with just a few minutes remaining on the clock.

Cargan, showing their never die attitude had to work hard to break down a strong defensive Saints side, but with the Saints boys backs against the wall in the dying minutes, it was Sean McLarnon's late goal in the 74th minute, to reduce Cargin’s point deficit to one — but fortunately for Saints it simply wasn't enough as the referee blew his final whistle and the boys in white and black were declared the undefeated champions. Call these boys the new invincibles.

All-Saints: Aaron Magill, Rory Corr, Rian McCann, Angus Steele, Conor O’Rawe, Corey Lyttle, Ruairi Campbell, Eoghan Daly, Ryan McGarry, James McDonnell, Ronan Laverty, Cormac Lemon, Matthew Corr, Conor Stewart, Shea O’Brien, Ruairi McAllister, Matthew Downey, Ciaran O’Boyle, Alex O’Boyle, Eoin McNally, Kevin Brady, Rory McLaughlin, Brandon Reid.

Belfast Telegraph