Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Antrim 2-9 Wexford 0-18

Wexford claimed a three-point win over Antrim in yesterday’s sunshine shootout, at Casement Park, but the 0-18 to 2-9 scoreline does the visitors scant justice.

A closing spurt brought Antrim into contention after Brian Neeson and Tony Scullion were dismissed within 30 seconds of each other.

Most significantly the result means Antrim must remain in Division Two for another year.

Points from Ben Brosnan, Ciaran Lyng and PJ Branville (two) had Wexford 0-04 to 0-00 up after just six minutes and it was 0-7 to 0-1 by the 17th

James Loughrey sent over Antrim’s opening point after 10 minutes, but the Saffrons didn’t raise another flag until Tomás McCann’s free nine minutes later and it was, amazingly, down to 0-8 to 0-5 on the half-hour when McCann and Simon McDonagh landed two more home points.

A point from Branville was wiped out by half-time substitute Neeson and over the next 10 minutes and Redmond and Barry rifled over more visitors’ points with McCann replying.

Michael Magill fired a rocket to the Wexford net and when McCann pointed a minute later it was Wexford 0-14, Antrim 1-9.

McCann hit another point 19 minutes from time, but Antrim’s only other score came from the penalty spot by McCann as Wexford hit four points to secure promotion to Division Two next season and two rounds still to go.

“We didn’t get out of the blocks from the start and we were seven points down at one time,” said Antrim manager Liam Bradley.

ANTRIM: C Kerr; K O’Boyle, R Johnston, M Johnston; T Scullion, J Crozier, J Loughrey (0-1); M McCann (1-2, 1-0 pen), A Gallagher; T McCann (0-3, 2f, 0-1 ‘45’), C Kelly, M Armstrong; M Magill (1-1), M Sweeney, C Murray. Subs: S McDonagh (0-1) for Armstrong (16), B Neeson (0-1) for Kelly (half-time).

WEXFORD: A Masterson; R Tierney, G Molloy, B Malone; A Flynn (0-3), D Murphy, A Doyle; R Quinlivan (0-1), D Waters; R Barry (0-2), C Morris, B Brosnan (0-3, 1f, 0-1 ‘45’); C Lyng (0-5, 4f), E Bradley, PJ Branville (0-3). Subs: L Chin for Quinlivan (50), P Byrne for Barry (50), S Roche for Morris (31), J Holmes (0-1) for Branville (70).

Referee: C Reynolds (Down).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph