Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Antrim

Neeson's double fires Antrim to first victory

Queen's Univ 1-11 - Antrim 3-11

By David Mohan

A strong second half display saw Antrim claim their first points in the Dr McKenna Cup as the Saffrons hit three goals - two from sub Brian Neeson - to see off Queen's at the Dub.

Points from Conor Murray and Kevin Niblock within a minute proved their only scores from play in the opening 35 minutes.

Martin Clarke kicked another free in response before Antrim's Ryan Murray - lining out for Queen's - kicked the score of the half from an angle out on the left to level.

Queen's - playing with a strong breeze at their backs - finished the half much stronger and a long free from Clarke tied the game at 0-5 before Michael Monan raced through to score.

Queen's were 0-8 to 0-5 ahead at the half.

Clarke moved Queen's further ahead with a free just after the break, but Antrim roared back when Niblock went on a surging run and fed Neeson who sent a rasping shot into the top corner.

Queen's hit back straight away with a goal through Gerard McGovern.

The students were then dealt a blow when Clarke was issued a black card.

Antrim then hit 1-4 over a 10 minute period, the goal coming from Michael McCann.

Neeson sealed the win with his second goal.

Murray then received a straight red card for an off the ball tangle with Dermott McAleese.

ANTRIM: R Hanna; K O'Boyle, S McVeigh, J McGreevy; M Hynes, J Crozier (0-1), P Gallagher; J Carron, C Murray (0-1); M McCann (1-0), K Niblock (0-2), P Kelly; S Burke, C Fleming (0-4, all frees), T McCann (0-1 free). Subs: B Neeson (2-1) for S Burke (34 mins), D Nugent (0-1) for J Carron (52 mins), M Armstong for M Hynes (57 mins), J Dowling for P Kelly (66 mins)

QUB: J Denney; G McCabe, C Cullen, B Burns; N Delargy, S Heffron, M Monan (0-1); B Rogers, A Doherty; R Murray (0-2), M Clarke (0-4 all frees), D McAleese; R Corrigan, G McGovern (1-3), C Martin. Subs: C Hamill for M Clarke (black card, 45 mins), H Brown for C Martin (55 mins), B Bradley (0-1 free) for M Monan (57 mins), C Lavelle for C Cullen (60 mins)

Referee: Brendan Rice (Down)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph