Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Antrim

Slack Saffrons stunned as Ryan fires Limerick into next round

Antrim 0-09 Limerick 2-06

Although they did arrive in Belfast as big outsiders in the All-Ireland qualifier assignment against Antrim in Corrigan Park, Limerick upset the odds to make progress.

The home side had started well, with a couple of early points from Ryan Murray and Kevin Niblock aiding them on the way. The Saffrons were looking good but the visitors hit back with a fifth minute Sean McSweeney point.

Then full forward Ian Ryan left his marker for dead and despatched to the back of the net.

The home side were rattled and when Ryan was fouled inside the area in the eighth minute, McSweeney scored a goal from the penalty kick.

Antrim did outscore their hosts in the remainder of the half but they certainly never looked at ease and Limerick led 2-02 to 0-06 at the short blast.

Limerick did increase their advantage a few minutes into the second period via a long range effort from Stephen Cahill and despite Antrim's best efforts, an injury time McSweeney point was enough to ease Limerick into the next round.

ANTRIM: C Kerr, K O' Boyle, R Johnston, P Gallagher, J Laverty, J Crozier, M Sweeney, S Mc Veigh, M Mc Cann, P Mc Bride (0-02), M Fitzpatrick (0-01), K Niblock (0-01), R Murray (0-02), N Mc Keever, S Burke (0-01). Subs: D Niblock for J Laverty, M Johnston for S McVeigh, C Murray for P Gallagher, P McAleer for R Johnston, T McCann (0-01) for N McKeever, J Carron for S Burke

LIMERICK: D O Sullivan, J Mc Carthy, P Browne, S Cahill (0-01), B Fanning, S O' Dea, P Rannahan, D Treacy, T Childs, G Noonan, P Nash, S Buckley, S Mc Sweeney (1-03), I Ryan (1-02), H Bourke. Subs: E Hogan for H Bourke, K Ryan for S Mc Sweeney

Referee: S Hurson (Tyrone)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph