Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Armagh star makes it seven Ulster players in Ireland's International Rules squad

By Gareth Hanna

Armagh's Niall Grimley has been added to Ireland's International Rules squad to take on Australia.

The midfielder impressed along with Cork forward Sean Powter in Wednesday evening's final trial match at Croke Park.

Tyrone man Conor McKenna, however, will not be available to take on Australia in the November series.

The Aussie Rules star, plying his trade Down Under with Essendon, has picked up an ankle ligament injury and so misses out on Joe Kernan's Ireland squad.

There are six more Ulster players who do make the cut. Tyrone's Niall Morgan and Niall Sludden are joined by Monaghan duo Conor McManus and Karl O'Donnell while Donegal's Michael Murphy and Cavan's Killian Clarke also make the grade.

McManus has been named as vice-captain in the side that will be led by Mayo's Aidan O'Shea. Three of his All Ireland runner-up team-mates join him while winners Dublin are not represented due to a range of factors including club commitments, which also rule out Tyrone pair Sean and Colm Cavanagh.

On the stand-by list are another three Ulster players in Down's Connaire Harrison and Caolan Mooney as well as Tyrone's Mattie Donnelly.

"I'd like to congratulate all of the players who have made the panel and acknowledge not only their hard work and training but that of all of the players who trained with us since our preparations commenced," said Ireland boss Kernan.

"Everyone involved is enthused by the prospect of representing Ireland and we are fully aware of the challenge involved in trying to retain the Cormac McAnallen Cup won against Australia at Croke Park two years ago."

Ireland take on Australia in the first Test in Adelaide on November 12 with the second game in Perth on November 18.

Ireland International Rules squad

Squad: N Morgan (Tyrone), C Barrett (Mayo), G Brennan (Clare), E Cadogan (Cork), K Clarke (Cavan), P Crowley (Kerry), K Feely (Kildare), P Geaney (Kerry), N Grimley (Armagh), P Hanley (Gold Coast/Mayo), B Harrison (Mayo), C McManus (Monaghan) vice-capt, Michael Murphy (Donegal), N Murphy (Sligo), P Murphy (Kerry), K O'Connell (Monaghan), S Powter (Cork), A Shea (Mayo) capt, N Sludden (Tyrone), E Smith (Roscommon), C Sweeney (Tipperary), Z Tuohy (Laois), S Walsh (Galway).

Stand-by: M Donnelly (Tyrone), C Harrison (Down), C Mooney (Down), S Murphy (Carlow), B Murphy (Carlow)

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph