Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Armagh

Armagh are left broken as Kelly steals it for Rossies

Armagh1-14 - 2-12 Roscommon

The words will provide little consolation for Armagh but even the man who broke their hearts on Saturday afternoon conceded it was a 'horrible' way to be beaten.

Roscommon captain Micheal Kelly was the player who drove a stake through the Orchard County's Nicky Rackard Cup title ambitions with a dramatic 72nd minute winning goal.

It came from a 20-metre free which was awarded following Nathan Curry's cynical drag down of John Coyne as Roscommon, trailing by two points, chased the game.

Skipper and centre-back Kelly strode forward to take on the responsibility and made no mistake with a punishing drive that shook the Armagh net.

Roscommon's win has left them on the brink of Christy Ring Cup hurling in 2016. But Armagh will take some time to get over the defeat - a repeat of the 2007 outcome - and specifically the manner of it.

Armagh led throughout the entire second-half and Ryan Gaffney's eighth converted free of the day approaching the 70th minute appeared to be the insurance score which moved them two ahead.

"It's horrible for Armagh, a horrible, horrible place to be," said Kelly.

"Take nothing away from Armagh, they're a super team, in my opinion.

"We knew we were going to have to play to our potential to even keep with them. There was nothing between those two teams at all."

Roscommon: N Fallon; I Delaney, P Kellehan, L Kilcline; D Leonard, M Kelly (1-0, 1f), T Seale; C Dolan, J Kilkenny; J Moran (0-3), R O'Meara, J Fallon (0-4, 4f); C Egan (0-1), K Kilkenny (0-1), A Murphy (1-1).

Subs: C Kelly for Dolan (34), J Coyne (0-2) for Seale (h/t), C Kenny for Egan (44), E Flanagan for Murphy (61), G Fallon for J Fallon (64).

Armagh: S Doherty; S Renaghan, C Clifford, C Devlin; S Gaffney, N Curry (0-1, 1 65), K McKernan; J Corvan, D Coulter (0-2); R Gaffney (0-8, 8f), C Carvill (1-0), D Carvill (0-1); M Moan, E McGuinness (0-1), C Corvan (0-1).

Subs: C Gorman for Moan (53), C McKee for McGuinness (63), A McGuinness for D Carvill (66).

Referee: J O'Brien (Tipperary).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph