Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Armagh

Donegal pursuit of title glory hotting up

Armagh 0-07 Donegal 2-14

Donegal will be difficult to separate from their Ulster Minor Football Championship title on the evidence of this swashbuckling performance served up at the Athletic Grounds.

The Orchard County had simply no answer to the cohesion, fitness and artistry of Declan Bonner's well-drilled outfit who, after a tentative opening spell, took complete charge.

But 1993 All-Ireland winner Bonner is anxious to keep their win in perspective.

"Armagh played very well in the opening spell and gave us a lot of problems," he said.

"But I thought that after we got our first goal we found our rhythm and played some good football.

"No matter who we meet in the semi-final it is going to be very tough. Obviously there is a hard road ahead and we will take one step at a time."

Apart from a brief spell at the start of the game during which they missed a string of scoring opportunities, Armagh were never in the hunt.

Their defence was vulnerable throughout, their attack lacked real penetration and, with the notable exception of Jarlath Og Burns and Oisin O'Neill, their players could not match the visitors for commitment and physicality.

Donegal led by 0-8 to 0-3 at the break but moved up a gear in the second half.

Goals by Naoise O Baoill in the 36th minute and Daire O Baoill in the 56th minute wrapped up the victory.

ARMAGH: C Donaghy; D Loye, B McCambridge, R Owens; C Boylan, C Murphy, C O'Neill 0-1; P Quinn 0-1, J Og Burns; R O'Neill, M McCabe, O O'Neill 0-4 (1f); C Magill, T O'Hare, A Boyle 0-1. Subs: C Grimley for Magill (h/t), J Duffy for O'Kane (40), S Conaty for Boyle (42), R Gaskin for Owens (42), S Morris for Quinn (45), L Doyle for R O'Neill 56. Yellow cards: Owens (25), O'Hare (27), R O'Neill (28), Murphy (39).

DONEGAL: D Rodgers; G McFadden, S McMenamin, P Doherty; B McCole, J McGee, E O'Donnell 0-4 (3f); R Carr (0-2), M Carroll (0-1); C Doherty 0-7 (5f), M Langan, D O'Baoill 1-0; P McNern, N O Baoill 1-10, N O'Donnell. Subs: K Barrett for N O'Donneelll (46), S Ferry for P Doherty (50), E McGettigan for N O'Baoill (52), N Gavigan for Carr, B Curran for E O'Donnell (both 57), J R Molloy for D O'Baoill (58). Yellow cards: N O'Donnell (39)

Referee: Anthony Marron (Monaghan).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph