Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Armagh

Donnelly and McSorely star again as Armagh collect Division Three title

Armagh 3-11 - Roscommon 2-09

By John Campbell

Two goals in the space of a couple of minutes at the end of the third quarter proved decisive as Armagh confirmed their superiority over Roscommon to claim the National League Division Three camogie title.

Just as in the semi-final defeat of Dublin though, when they scored 1-13 between them, it was the tag team of Ciara Donnelly and Colette McSorley that made the key contributions.

Joint captain Donnelly registered 1-6 and was named player of the match. Meanwhile, McSorley provided 1-3 and with a strong supporting cast, Armagh were deserving winners.

Armagh struck a telling blow just before the interval, when they led by just the minimum. Donnelly's free hit the post but McSorley was alert to gather and rattle the Roscommon net, leaving it 1-7 to 1-3 at the break.

Hopkins raised a couple of white flags after the resumption but Donnelly buried Roscommon with two major plays.

ARMAGH: C Devlin, H McGeown, N Conway, C McKinley, S Woods, G Kelly, E Hays, B Murray, A McAlinden, N Markey, S Molloy, C Donnelly 1-6, S McArdle 1-0, C McSorley 1-3, R Merry 0-2. Subs: L Donnelly for Molloy, L McGoldrick for Markey.

ROSCOMMON: C Connaughton, A Fallon, S Coyle, P Lennon, S Spillane 0-1, E Daly, J Beattie, C Dowling, N Watson, N Coyle 1-1, R Brennan 0-1, K Hopkins 0-6, A McGeeney 1-0, S O'Brien, C Curley. Subs: A Rogerson for O'Brien, C Morris for N Coyle.

Referee: A Doheny (Laois).


Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph