Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Armagh

Kerry net third All-Ireland title on trot thanks to goal spree

All-Ireland MFC final - Kerry 3-7 Galway 0-9

They may have accomplished their goal the hard way but in landing a third All-Ireland minor football championship on the trot at Croke Park yesterday Kerry served up a sharp reminder that the old order at senior level could pertain.

They led by 2-2 to 0-2 at the break, Diarmuid O'Connor and David Shaw contributing to their advantage with goals in the 18th and 22nd minutes although they only got one point from play.

Galway looked as if they meant business at 2-3 to 0-6 but when Dara Moynihan powered through their defence at regular intervals, Kerry took control again.

And when David Clifford hit their third goal in the 52nd minute, the seal had been placed on an All-Ireland title hat-trick.

Galway simply could not cope with Kerry's ability to counter-attack smartly but it was the Kingdom's organisation and efficiency in defence that stood to them.

Manager Peter Keane said afterwards: "Galway made it tough enough for us but it's good to have three All-Ireland titles on the trot."

Kerry: B Courtney; D Naughten, N Collins 0-1, G O'Sullivan; M Potts, D O'Brien, M Foley; M Breen, M Ryan; D Moynihan 0-2, S O'Shea 0-3 (1f), D O'Connor 1-0; D Clifford 1-0, D Shaw 1-0, B Friel. Subs: C Linnane 0-1 for Friel (48), C Teahan for Collins (53), B Sweney for Shaw (59), S Okunbar for O'Connor (65).

Galway: C Haslam; L Boyle, S Mulkerran, E McFadden; A Quirke 0-1, E McDonagh, F Garvey; C D'Arcy 0-1, J Maher; F O Laoi, E Murphy, R Forde 0-1; R Finnerty 0-3 (1f), S Raftery, D Conneely 0-2 (1f). Subs: B Coldrick for Murphy (37), R Murphy for Raftery (50), R Cunningham 0-1 for Finnerty (55), E Deeley for Garvey (56).

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph