Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Carlin gets nod in Harte's only change to team

By Declan Bogue

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made just one alteration to the starting team that defeated Meath last weekend in the round four qualifier, as the Red Hands prepare to take on Monaghan in this Saturday's All-Ireland quarter-final.

Ryan McKenna's place at corner-back goes instead to Dermot Carlin, who has been steadily recovering from the broken nose he received in the first round of the Ulster Championship against Donegal. Carlin also came on as a late sub against Meath.

Meanwhile, Stephen Gollogly has recovered sufficiently from his knock in that most over-publicised challenge for the ball in the Ulster final against Donegal to take his place in the starting Monaghan line-up for the Croke Park clash.

Rather famously by this stage, Gollogly's collision with Mark McHugh forced the retirement of both players from the showpiece day, but the Carrickmacross man has been named in his centre-forward berth in an unchanged side from that which started against Donegal.

Padraig Donaghy was a late replacement for Christopher McGuinness that day and his abrasive style has earned him retention of the starting jersey, leaving Monaghan with quite a serious arsenal to be sprung from the bench, including the likes of Dick Clerkin, Christopher McGuinness and Tommy Freeman.

Mayo manager James Horan has named a strong team to face All-Ireland champions Donegal in Sunday's eagerly-anticipated quarter-final; a repeat of last year's All-Ireland final.

This week has witnessed Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher accusing Monaghan of a level of what he described as 'collusion' with Mayo over how to beat Donegal. It has inflamed an already caustic atmosphere.

Young Player of the Year, Cillian O'Connor, returns to the starting line-up after getting gametime in the Connacht final, when Mayo romped home past London.

Finally, Kieran Donaghy returns to the Kerry starting line-up to face Cavan as he takes over in his familiar full-forward position. Tomas OSe will be making his 87th Championship appearance in his 16th season.

Cavan confirmed that they will name their team on Friday night after team training.

TYRONE (V Monaghan): P McConnell; D Carlin, C Clarke, C McCarron; C McGinley, P Harte, C Gormley; S Cavanagh, C Cavanagh; Matthew Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, Joe McMahon; D McCurry, S O'Neill [Capt], M Penrose

MONAGHAN (V Tyrone): R Beggan; K Duffy, D Wylie, C Walshe; V Corey, N McAdam, D Mone; O Lennon [Capt], D Hughes; P Finlay, S Gallogly, D Malone; P Donaghy, K Hughes, C McManus

MAYO (V Donegal): R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; L Keegan, D Vaughan, C Boyle; A O'Shea, S O'Shea; K McLoughlin, R Feeney, A Dillon; C O'Connor, A Freeman, A Moran

KERRY (V Cavan): B Kealy; F Fitzgerald, M OSe, S Enright; T OSe, K Young, P Crowley; A Maher, J Buckley; P Galvin, C Cooper, D Walsh; Declan O'Sullivan, K Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph