Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Cluxton leads Dubs to title

Goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton converted a stoppage time free to win a first All-Ireland SFC title for Dublin since 1995.

Kerry appeared to be heading for yet another triumph when they led by four points with seven minutes to play, but super-sub Kevin McManaman fired home a brilliant goal, and Pat Gilroy's men shaded a gripping decider by 1-12 to 1-11.

Colm Cooper slotted home a Kerry goal in the 19th minute, but Cluxton stroked over a 50 metre free, his 11th point of the championship, and they pushed further ahead with two Bernard Brogan efforts.

Dublin led by 0-6 to 1-2 at the interval, and surged further ahead with points from Bernard Brogan and Denis Bastick.

But Kerry stepped up the tempo, and after Bryan Sheehan had tapped over a free, Donaghy soared high to field Tomas O Se's route one delivery, and with a goal at his mercy, he fisted over the bar.

Kerry's vast experience began to tell, and the value of an accurate place-kicker was emphasised by Bryan Sheehan, who stroked over a '45 and a free, as well as thumping over an excellent effort from play.

Cooper also nailed a free as Dublin were punished for a rash of clumsy challenges, and the Kingdom eased into a four points lead with seven minutes to play but the game took a sensational twist in the 64th minute when Dublin dragged themselves back into it with a superb goal.

Alan Brogan made the break, off-loaded to Kevin McManaman, and the substitute skipped past Declan O'Sullivan and fired low past Kealy.

The sides were level for a fifth time a minute later when wing back Kevin Nolan split the posts from distance

And in a gripping finish, Cluxton kept his cool to make history as the first goalkeeper to score an All-Ireland final winner.


From Belfast Telegraph