Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Colleges’ All Stars take pride of place at anniversary banquet

By John Campbell

The Danske Bank Ulster Colleges’ All Star Awards scheme saw a significant milestone celebrated at the Europa Hotel, Belfast last night when the 30th anniversary of the project was marked in style.

The scheme has grown in status in recent years in particular now that even more schools are under the Ulster Colleges’ Council umbrella and the formal unveiling of both the football and hurling All Star teams created huge interest.

Ulster Colleges’ Council chairman Jimmy Smyth, who captained Armagh in the 1977 All-Ireland final against Dublin, acted as MC.

There were nine different schools presented with awards in the All Star football selection, with St Patrick’s College, Maghera gaining three awards and MacRory and Hogan champions St Ronan’s College, Lurgan achieving two awards.

In the hurling All Stars, St Mary’s CBGS, Belfast had two players selected — Sean Wilson from the St. John’s club and midfielder Dominic McEnhill from O’Donovan Rossa.

Football All Stars: E O’Boyle (St Eunan’s, Letterkenny); C Magennis (St Paul’s, Bessbrook), A Fox (Omagh CBS), C Quinn (St Ciaran’s, Ballygawley); J Haughey (St Ronan’s, Lurgan), B Diver (St Eunan’s Letterkenny), A Doherty (Colaiste na Carraige, Carrick); O Mallon (St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon), O McWilliams (St Patrick’s, Maghera); J McAtamney (St Patrick’s Maghera), T Kelly (St Ronan’s Lurgan), P Dolan (St Columba’s Stranorlar): J Garrity (Omagh CBS), O Gallen (St Columba’s Starnorlar), L McWilliams (St Patrick’s Maghera).

Hurling All Stars: C McLornan  (Our Lady & St Patrick’s, Knock);  J Shortt  (St. Patrick’s, Keady), A Crawford (St Louis Ballymena), S McKearney (St Patrick’s, Keady); N McCormack (Cross and Passion, Ballycastle), T Walsh (St Patrick’s, Maghera), S Wilson (St Mary’s, Belfast); L McCann (St Louis, Ballymena), D McEnhill (St Mary’s, Belfast); F McCurry (St Killian’s, Garron Tower), T Prenter (St Patrick’s, Downpatrick), R McGarry (St Louis, Ballymena); R Costello (Aquinas, Belfast), P Green (St Patrick’s, Keady),  E McQuillan (St Killian’s, Garron Tower).

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph