Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Colm scoops writers' Player of the Year prize

Out in front: Sean and Colm Cavanagh with their Ulster GAA Writers’ Association awards
Out in front: Sean and Colm Cavanagh with their Ulster GAA Writers’ Association awards
John Campbell

By John Campbell

The prizes came thick and fast for Colm Cavanagh during 2017.

A Dr McKenna Cup and Ulster Championship medal won with Tyrone were followed by county and provincial intermediate club honours achieved with Moy before a coveted All Star accolade proved the icing on his sporting cake.

Now another prize has come Cavanagh's way following his selection as the Quinn Building Products Ulster GAA Writers' Association Player of the Year.

His majestic consistency for club and county put him head and shoulders above everyone else and further cemented his reputation as one of the province's truly great players.

Not surprisingly, all-conquering Slaughtneil took the writers' Club of the Year award following their domination of football, hurling and camogie in the province while two other honours went the way of the south Derry outfit with Eilís Cassidy named Camogie Player of the Year and Cormac O'Doherty claiming the Young Achiever award.

And there was a second award, too, for the Cavanagh family with Colm's brother Sean lifting the Personality of the Year honour.

GAA Writers annual award winners: Footballer: Colm Cavanagh; Female Footballer: Aimee Mackin; Hurler: John Dillon; Camogie Player of the Year: Eilís Cassidy; Handball: Conor McElduff; Club: Slaughtneil; Team: St Mary's Univ College; Culture: Omagh St Enda's; Young Achiever: Cormac O'Doherty; Communications: Michael Geoghegan; Personality: Sean Cavanagh; Services to GAA: Naul McCole.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph