Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Cookstown 0-09 Lavey 1-04

Cookstown are Ulster Intermediate football champions after overcoming Cavan champions Lavey in a hard fought encounter at Brewster Park Enniskillen yesterday afternoon.

It was honours even at the interval 0-5 to 1-2 but Tyrone champions Cookstown were surely scratching their heads as to why that was the case.

Owen Mulligan hit three first half points to put them four ahead and when Lavey had defender Fergal Smith sent off things were looking good for the Tyrone champions.

In the minute of the first half Darren Jordan converted a controversial penalty after Cookstown defender Ryan Pickering was adjudged to have blocked the ball with his foot.

Christopher Eastwood and Karl Duke exchanged points in the opening five minutes of the second half but after that both sides struggled for scores.

Despite being a man down Lavey more than matched their opponents although they could never get their noses in front.

With five minutes to go Tyrone player Raymond Mulgrew put his side ahead with a well taken score before Martin Murray landed the insurance point in injury time to keep the title in the O’Neill county for another twelve months.

Cookstown: M Rea, R Pickering, S Monaghan, P McGurk, S McGarrity, B Hughes, C O’Hare, G Fitzpatrick, R Mulgrew [0-1], J Quinn [0-1], C Mullan, Brian Mulligan, C Eastwood [0-2], O Mulligan [0-4], M Murray [0-1]. Subs: J Gilmore for Brian Mulligan, B O’Neill for Fitzpatrick, Barry Mulligan for Mullan, P Kelly for Monaghan, C Mullan for Quinn

Lavey: C Martin, F Smith, D Smith, K Duke [0-1], K Donohoe, J Jordan, A Smith, S Maguire, D Smith, K Brady, D Murphy, S Jordan, M Cusack, D Jordan [1-3], S Tierney. Subs: C Conroy for Brady, F Jordan for Donohue, D Conroy for Duke, O Smith for Murphy, D Tierney for A Smith

Referee: R O’Donnell (Donegal).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph