Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Cork secure title

Cork won their third successive NFL Division One title with a 2-10 to 0-11 comeback win over Mayo at Croke Park.

The Rebels put a forgettable first half display behind them to overwhelm the Connacht men with a combination of power, pace and fabulous finishing.

Mayo had looked capable of clinching an elusive Croke Park title triumph when they took the game confidently to the favourites in the opening half, carving out a four points lead.

Cillian O'Connor converted five frees as James Horan's side delivered a compelling attacking display to lead by 0-9 to 0-5 at the break

But Cork seized control after the restart, with Colm O'Neill and Aidan Walsh blasting in goals.

Kildare were crowned Division Two champions with a big finish at Croke Park, seven late points inflicting a first defeat of the season on Tyrone.

They came good in the final 10 minutes, with substitute Padraig Fogarty hitting three gems to deny the Red Hands.

Three Mikey Conway frees, along with scores from Johnny Doyle and James Kavanagh, helped Kildare to a 0-7 to 0-6 interval lead, with Owen Mulligan and Mark Donnelly hitting two each for Tyrone.

Tyrone led a tight game with just over 10 minutes to play after Sean Cavanagh edged them in front. They had been level on six occasions, but that crucial late spell belonged top the rampant Lilywhites, with Mikey Conway finishing with a five points tally.


From Belfast Telegraph